Author Topic: Audiovox Cruise Control  (Read 6300 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Robert_Buchaklian_CA

  • Big Wheels
  • Posts: 4
Audiovox Cruise Control
« on: May 01, 2008, 09:15:00 pm »
I was wondering if anyone has installed the Audiovox cruise control offered by Murphy's Kits and if there are any problems?  

Offline smithr1

  • I Need a Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 5221
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 6197
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Audiovox Cruise Control
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2008, 11:11:00 am »
Yes and no not really.  You have to be able to do some real work to install it but it is not to hard if you have some basic skills.  Others in the group might be in your area and willing to help also.  Here are a bunch of links.  http://murpskits.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=1_90&products_id=69&osCsid=8f0e1702a55531d3f73fc41e86255f81  http://www.murphskits.com/audiovox/1index.html  http://murpskits.com/catalog/images/SchematicGuide.pdf?osCsid=8f0e1702a55531d3f73fc41e86255f81  http://www.murpskits.com/catalog/docs/c14cc-install.htm   http://fredandrose.com/Concours/connieAudiovoxCC.htm    <p align="left">My Photos
 
</p>    
---
Bob Smith (smithr)
Austin, Texas baby!
2010 Kawasaki Concours, Midnight Blue
COG 6197, CDA 107

Offline Rob

  • Road Bike
  • ***
  • Posts: 335
  • AREA: Northwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Audiovox Cruise Control
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2008, 07:06:00 pm »
Agree with Bob.  It's a fairly extensive installation, but if you have a bit of wiring and mechanical skills you should be able to get it done.  It is a great addition to the bike!  Murph has some really good instructions for installation on his site also.  

Offline Slybones

  • Sport Tourer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2633
  • AREA: Northwest Area
  • COG#: 6953
  • Membership Level: Expired - Expired Term
Audiovox Cruise Control
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2008, 11:43:00 pm »
I didnt think it was too bad other than getting the throttle cable hooked up. The rest of it, has a lot of steps to it. But they are not that bad. All in all some wiring and basic mechanical skills. Then that friggin throttle cable.     My opinion do they pry method. I printed out, listen to and dinked around with all the others. I must have had the CCS installed for months but couldnt use it for not having the patients to hook that dang throttle cable. Then I read about the pry method. Been happy ever since.  
2003 Concours, 121K
2005 GL1800ABS, 52K
COG #6953, IBA 28004

Offline Robert_Buchaklian_CA

  • Big Wheels
  • Posts: 4
Audiovox Cruise Control
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2008, 11:30:00 am »
Thanks for all the links and info! Still trying to find that "pry method" that was mentioned. I should be getting my CCS from Murph's this week. Looking forward to the challenge.  

Offline nsmisner

  • Tricycle
  • Posts: 11
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 7426
  • Membership Level: Expired - Expired Term
Audiovox Cruise Control
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2008, 12:22:00 pm »
I like to remove the wire loop from the chain of balls and slip it over the barrel hook on the carb.  Then I work the throttle barrel into the hole.  Then I can slide the wire loop onto the barrel and reconnect the cruise chain.    
2010 Cruise, StarCom, Zumo660, risers & wedges, CeeBailey XtraTall, Projekt D sliders
2002 Concours(sold) - my first bike

Offline robrjohnson

  • Big Wheels
  • Posts: 4
Audiovox Cruise Control
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2008, 09:56:00 pm »
If you have an LED tailight or a BackOff tailight modulator, you'll need to either remove it or install a relay or the cruise will never engage.  
 1998 Kawasaki Concours  San Diego, CA

Offline smithr1

  • I Need a Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 5221
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 6197
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Audiovox Cruise Control
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2008, 09:11:00 am »
That modulator thing got me.  I forgot my brakes had a modulator and even though I knew about the LED bulbs being a problem I did not snap to the modulator being the problem with my install for an hour of more.  The voltage on the brake wire was like .7 with the module and .4 with out when not pushing on the pedel but that was enough to keep it from engaging.    <p align="left">My Photos
 
</p>    
---
Bob Smith (smithr)
Austin, Texas baby!
2010 Kawasaki Concours, Midnight Blue
COG 6197, CDA 107

Offline dreambike

  • Tricycle
  • Posts: 37
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 7486
  • Membership Level: Expired - Expired Term
Audiovox Cruise Control
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2008, 10:09:00 pm »
I have a friend who has the led set up and installed the cruise control.  He used a shorter than standard 12 volts bulb behind the led lights to have more draw for the cruise control.  The led kit only uses one of the two socket plugs so the other can be used for the shorter bulb.  The cruise should then be wired in on the side using the 12v bulb.  This is the least expensive fix of the led problem that I have heard.  
2006 FJR

Offline smithr1

  • I Need a Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 5221
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 6197
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Audiovox Cruise Control
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2008, 11:28:00 am »
Murph sells a relay that you can use to ground the brake line if you have a LED or modulator and it is not that high $ but having one regular bulb in the line should work as you say.    <p align="left">My Photos
 
</p>    
---
Bob Smith (smithr)
Austin, Texas baby!
2010 Kawasaki Concours, Midnight Blue
COG 6197, CDA 107