Author Topic: Favorite Garmin or Other GPS Solution  (Read 508 times)

Offline Wantabeach

• Bicycle
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Favorite Garmin or Other GPS Solution
« on: September 30, 2019, 01:27:38 pm »
Do you use your phone, GPS, maps?  If GPS, which one and why?  If phone, what apps do you use? 

Separate but related, don’t GPS units come with maps?  Why do I see conversation about purchasing additional maps? 

Thanks
Paul
« Last Edit: September 30, 2019, 05:03:24 pm by Wantabeach »
2006 Kawasaki Concours
2006 Harley Heritage (sold)

Offline BB

• Mini Bike
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 12977
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Favorite Garmin or Other GPS Solution
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2019, 11:53:45 am »
The best motorcycle-friendly GPS I have purchased (and actually still have) is the Garmin StreetPilot Series 2700's or 2600's series. I've owned 3 units since I started riding.

Pros: Very cheap, weatherproof, glove compatible, ideal for bike. They are old school but still easy to find the GPS unit and the bike mounting hardware on Ebay.

Cons: it is tricky to find new updated maps, it is tricky to install new maps for the first time, the display is not as fancy as newer GPS or cell phones (2600s series is 2D while 2700's series is 3D map)

I actually gave up the GPS unit for most of my riding and I simply use my cell phone - much simpler and most up-to-date maps and POI. But if I ever actually decide to travel outside the USA or even across the country, I will need the StreetPilot running, since it does not require cell phone signal to work, unlike the cell phone GPS.

Road Traveler
* 2001 Kawasaki ZG1000
* 1999 Kawasaki ZG1000

Offline robertv

• Street Cruiser
  • Go Hawks!
  • AREA: Northwest Area
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2019, 07:59:29 pm »
This was discussed on the C14 forum recently... http://forum.cog-online.org/accessories-c14/best-gps/