Concours Owners Group (COG) Forum

Concours Discussion (C10 / ZG1000 / 1000GTR) => Accessories C10 => Topic started by: dcman98 on December 10, 2012, 07:02:59 pm

Title: Wiring LED light strips
Post by: dcman98 on December 10, 2012, 07:02:59 pm
Went to the Long Beach motorcycle show over the weekend and found a product I was thinking about buying. I wanted to get some feedback from others here regarding this.

This company, Fastlights LED (http://fastlightsleds.com/skinnyz.html (http://fastlightsleds.com/skinnyz.html)) sells these LED strips. I spoke with the guy about wiring them as extra brake and turn lights, and he said that'd be fairly simple. Each strip has two wires, red and black, and I just need to wire the red one to the wire which activates for the brake/turn signal, and wire the black to the ground wire for the lights. (At least, that is what I took from our conversation. If something here is incorrect, it is more likely I misunderstood than that he gave bad instructions.)

Does anyone know if there is cause for concern about doing this, either by power consumption, or tapping in to the existing wiring?

Thanks for the input.

David
Title: Re: Wiring LED light strips
Post by: smithr1 on December 10, 2012, 07:32:09 pm
I do not think it would be a problem but I am not sure how much current they draw to be sure the OEM wiring would handle it but since they are LED chances are they do not draw that much and you would be fine.
Title: Re: Wiring LED light strips
Post by: Steve_Cramer_GA on December 10, 2012, 11:50:32 pm
I've got some wired to the running light circuit on the ZRX, and they work fine. LEDs don't use much juice.

Steve
Title: Re: Wiring LED light strips
Post by: Mcfly on December 11, 2012, 12:30:39 am
Using a strip light for an additional brake light, I'd say yes.  Not too sure it would
works as a running/brake light as is, unless you run it through a diode to
obtain two brightness levels. 

As previously mentioned, LEDs are low draw, so there's no problem there.

Title: Re: Wiring LED light strips
Post by: TrenchFighter on December 11, 2012, 08:08:37 pm
I had LED's on my R6. I used them for additional turn signals when I had my saddlebags mounted. I tapped them straight into my stock turnsignal wires. I had no issues and they work great for years.
Title: Re: Wiring LED light strips
Post by: BBroj on December 19, 2012, 12:15:55 am
I have several strings of LED's on my bike for additional visibility. In my Givi top box, I placed 2 LED's in each of the "dots" above the latch. I have 1 LED in each dot wired to the marker light circuit, the other to the brake light circuit. So the 4 dots collectively act like a running/brake light, with 1 led in each dot on constantly and the 2nd coming on with just the brakes, causing the whole assembly to get brighter.
Title: Re: Wiring LED light strips
Post by: dcman98 on December 19, 2012, 04:10:32 pm
I have several strings of LED's on my bike for additional visibility. In my Givi top box, I placed 2 LED's in each of the "dots" above the latch. I have 1 LED in each dot wired to the marker light circuit, the other to the brake light circuit. So the 4 dots collectively act like a running/brake light, with 1 led in each dot on constantly and the 2nd coming on with just the brakes, causing the whole assembly to get brighter.

That is similar to what I will probably do. The strips are 10" each, so I'll put a vertical strip on each saddlebag, wired to the brakes. If I'm happy with them, I'll put a second strip alongside, wired to the running lights. That way, one strip is lit at all times, and when I hit the brakes, it doubles in brightness. Thinking about mounting 19" amber LED strips on the outside edge of the fairing, facing outward or rearward, depending on how visible they are from different angles. When I get them wired up, I'll post a few pics.