Author Topic: Anyone using a Corbin "Smuggler" AND a Trunk on a "Phil's Rack"??  (Read 767 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline philipintexas

  • Industry Member
  • Road Bike
  • *
  • Posts: 303
  • Need a better luggage rack? www.philsfarkels.com
    • Phils Farkels
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 10175
  • Membership Level: Active
Just wondering if the lids of the two trunks interfere with each other.
Need a better luggage rack? www.philsfarkels.com   

Offline ChrisD

  • Road Bike
  • ***
  • Posts: 364
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 12153
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Anyone using a Corbin "Smuggler" AND a Trunk on a "Phil's Rack"??
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2018, 06:35:25 pm »
Actually they do. I have to remove the Topcase to open the smuggler.  Needs about another CM on the adapters you sent me, though I would have to measure it to be sure.







« Last Edit: February 02, 2018, 06:40:32 pm by ChrisD »
 
AMA, ROK, GCE, GTR1400 Owners Group
2012 Candy Arabian Red (Sheba)

Offline The Pope

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1758
  • North Carolina AAD
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 9994
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Re: Anyone using a Corbin "Smuggler" AND a Trunk on a "Phil's Rack"??
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2018, 11:55:21 am »
I agree, but the Smugger lid will flex enough to get past the top box. Well..... the lid on my Smugger will.
The Pope
2011 Atomic Silver C-14 (aka TheImprovedSilverDammit)

"The Universe is a contest between engineers making things idiot-proof and God making bigger idiots. So far, God is winning by a wide margin." (Unknown author, well I don't know who said it.)

Offline RodneyW

  • Mini Bike
  • **
  • Posts: 158
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Anyone using a Corbin "Smuggler" AND a Trunk on a "Phil's Rack"??
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2018, 04:21:56 pm »
I've wondered about this.  I run the smuggler, but do not have a top case.  I would get one for the long trips, if it would work with the smuggler.  The factory rack is nearly useless with the smuggler also, as nearly anything I try to mount there (like a dry bag or soft luggage) hits the smuggler.  Frustrating, and yet I will never get rid of the smuggler, I like it too much!

Offline connie_rider

  • "OtP" {retired/assistant} Slave Labor
  • I Need a Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 8005
  • Help us make "OtP" possible! "AGAIN"
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 4154
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Re: Anyone using a Corbin "Smuggler" AND a Trunk on a "Phil's Rack"??
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2018, 07:38:21 pm »
On my bike, I drilled new holes for the mounting hardware {shown in ChrisD post} and moved the trunk back about an inch..
I suspect that might give you e'nuff clearance?

Ride safe, Ted
14 Connie (Traveler II) / 03 Connie (Buddy)
Gone but not forgotten; 87 and 00 Connies..

If your not already a COGger, "consider becoming one".
Help us make "OtP" possible again, DO IT NOW!!

Offline Jimmyzrx

  • Training Wheels
  • *
  • Posts: 67
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 11880
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Anyone using a Corbin "Smuggler" AND a Trunk on a "Phil's Rack"??
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2018, 12:07:25 pm »
Phil offers a adjustable rail to move the rack for clearance
2009 Green Concours

Offline The Pope

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1758
  • North Carolina AAD
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 9994
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Re: Anyone using a Corbin "Smuggler" AND a Trunk on a "Phil's Rack"??
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2018, 08:05:09 pm »
Phil offers a adjustable rail to move the rack for clearance
He also will shift the mounting holes on his rack to give a little more clearance between it and the Smugger.
The Pope
2011 Atomic Silver C-14 (aka TheImprovedSilverDammit)

"The Universe is a contest between engineers making things idiot-proof and God making bigger idiots. So far, God is winning by a wide margin." (Unknown author, well I don't know who said it.)

Offline Zarticus

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1648
  • Fanboy, Sludge wearer, Proud Rotella user !
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 10785
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Anyone using a Corbin "Smuggler" AND a Trunk on a "Phil's Rack"??
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2018, 08:43:07 pm »
Phil offers a adjustable rail to move the rack for clearance
I have the rails & they only give enough space to open the smuggler with Phils rack. If you put a trunk on phils Rack it is not even close to being able to open. I wound up getting an AST rack & it will allow the smuggler to open.
2012 Kawasaki Concours, Arabian Red
1986 Honda V65 Magna, Black
1984 Honda V65 Magna, Black
1983 Honda V45 Sabre, Red