Author Topic: Change the horn  (Read 332 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tector

  • Tricycle
  • Posts: 13
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 12838
  • Membership Level: Active
Change the horn
« on: August 03, 2019, 02:22:09 pm »
I'd like to replace the horn on my 2010 C14.  Has anyone installed a Stebel Nautilus air horn on a C14?  How about a FIAMM El Grande?  (These are the two units I'm looking at.)  I don't know how much room there is for the installation, so I'd like to buy something that I know will fit.  Thanks

Offline connie_rider

  • "OtP" {retired/assistant} Slave Labor
  • I Need a Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 9525
  • Help us make "OtP" possible! "AGAIN"
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 4154
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Re: Change the horn
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2019, 02:44:30 pm »
Tector, at the top; click on "home" and then type "horn" in the search area.
Lots of horns including Stebel and Fiamm have been mounted on the C-10's and C-14's.
You'll be able to see many discussions and how members mounted them by doing the search.

I mounted a pair of Fiamms and later Piaa Slimline's in the original horn location.
I preferred the Piaa Slimline's as their smaller than others, and LOUD!!
https://www.ebay.com/itm/PIAA-85114-LOUD-SPORTS-HORN-SLIM-LINE-KIT-SET-OF-TWO-400hz-500hz/121097727601?epid=228224518&hash=item1c31fcae71:g:l9IAAOxy79VRcX1L

Takes a bit of work to get them to fit in that original area but their "far" louder than stock and I like that location..
   {Others have mounted them under the fairing}..

If you do change horns, I suggest a relay to handle the extra amp draw.

Ride safe, Ted
« Last Edit: August 03, 2019, 04:19:52 pm by connie_rider »
14 Connie (Traveler II) / 03 Connie (Buddy)
Gone but not forgotten; 87 and 00 Connies..

If your not already a COGger, "consider becoming one".
Help us make "OtP" possible again!!

Offline 4Bikes

  • Iron Butt
  • *****
  • Posts: 3302
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 9715
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Re: Change the horn
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2019, 03:38:36 pm »
I had the Stebel Nautilus and removing the horn from the compressor to remote the horn is a pain, and it draws a lot of current. Rain eventually killed the horn since it sounded like it had a chest cold.

I went with the 500 Hz/600 Hz PIAA. You can that combo as a kit on Amazon. Easier to mount, just as loud, and draws less current. You will still want to put a relay on it and Amazon sells pre-made horn harness kits with the relay.
Silver 2011 C-14 and 2019 Versys 1000 SE LT+.  Previous rides: KZ-400, KZ-750, KZ-1000.  Keep the rubber side down.  Ride Fast......Live Slow......

Offline ghostrider990

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1123
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 12649
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Change the horn
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2019, 10:54:52 am »
Although that Amazon relay harness was cheap, I found that it was all wrong for MY application.

Wire lengths were designed for a car.  i simply made my own, custom fit.  :beerchug:

Good post on the Stebel, as I too chose not to go that route.

PIAA Slimlines on my Aprilia now, and Sport horns (full size) 500-600hz on the C14.  LOVE'EM!

search my posts.

gr
« Last Edit: August 09, 2019, 09:55:51 am by ghostrider990 »
My Horns have Horns.

Offline 4Bikes

  • Iron Butt
  • *****
  • Posts: 3302
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 9715
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Re: Change the horn
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2019, 11:22:02 am »
Although that Amazon relay harness was cheap, I found that it was all wrong for MY application.

Wire lengths were designed for a car.  i simply made my own, custom fit.  :beerchug:

Good post on the Stebel, as I too chose not to go that route.

PIAA Slimlines on my Aprilia now, and Sport horns (full size) 500-600hz.  LOVE'EM!

search my posts.

gr
I wont argue that the harness kit is not a custom fit.  I'm not sure how it could be.  It has the wires, connectors and wiring for two horns, plastic loom materials, and the relay you need.  I modify any pre-made wire harness that come with farkles because it makes a cleaner installation.  It takes  a few minutes and you need a soldering iron and heat shrink, but could use the crimp connectors that I think are unreliable.  I know you know that GR, so pointing out the obvious!

This is the one I used for my Versys 1000 SE LT +
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00XM107FC/ref=ppx_od_dt_b_asin_title_s04?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Silver 2011 C-14 and 2019 Versys 1000 SE LT+.  Previous rides: KZ-400, KZ-750, KZ-1000.  Keep the rubber side down.  Ride Fast......Live Slow......

Offline angelo

  • Mini Bike
  • **
  • Posts: 176
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Change the horn
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2019, 06:01:43 pm »
I guess I took the easy way out.  Replaced straight up with a fiamm freeway blaster low.  Not super loud but better than stock.  No relay or wiring change.  A little snug to fit.  But better and a 'free' change using all stock parts.

Offline ghostrider990

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1123
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 12649
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Change the horn
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2019, 09:59:30 am »
Agreed.  :great:

But for the $15 i spent, I would have needed to cut lengths off the harness, and basically replace most of the included connectors.  It just didn't make sense for ME.

Besides, I realized I had all the parts laying around including wire, connectors, relay, and loom!  :-[

gr


Although that Amazon relay harness was cheap, I found that it was all wrong for MY application.

Wire lengths were designed for a car.  i simply made my own, custom fit.  :beerchug:

Good post on the Stebel, as I too chose not to go that route.

PIAA Slimlines on my Aprilia now, and Sport horns (full size) 500-600hz.  LOVE'EM!

search my posts.

gr
I wont argue that the harness kit is not a custom fit.  I'm not sure how it could be.  It has the wires, connectors and wiring for two horns, plastic loom materials, and the relay you need.  I modify any pre-made wire harness that come with farkles because it makes a cleaner installation.  It takes  a few minutes and you need a soldering iron and heat shrink, but could use the crimp connectors that I think are unreliable.  I know you know that GR, so pointing out the obvious!

This is the one I used for my Versys 1000 SE LT +
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00XM107FC/ref=ppx_od_dt_b_asin_title_s04?ie=UTF8&psc=1
My Horns have Horns.

Offline connie_rider

  • "OtP" {retired/assistant} Slave Labor
  • I Need a Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 9525
  • Help us make "OtP" possible! "AGAIN"
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 4154
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Re: Change the horn
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2019, 03:31:01 pm »
I bought a custom harness from Sailor Chic when she was making them.
Fit and works great. Perf3ect fit.. But getting the best was more expensive than the ones you bought.
Both will get the job done...

She hurt her shoulder badly at work and was healing slowly. I haven't heard rom her in awhile. Has anyone been in contact with her?

Ride safe, Ted

« Last Edit: August 14, 2019, 12:52:00 am by connie_rider »
14 Connie (Traveler II) / 03 Connie (Buddy)
Gone but not forgotten; 87 and 00 Connies..

If your not already a COGger, "consider becoming one".
Help us make "OtP" possible again!!

Offline smithr1

  • I Need a Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 5257
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 6197
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Re: Change the horn
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2019, 06:10:34 pm »
When I went to get my new to me 2010 inspected in 2017 that is when I found the horn not working.   I went over to the auto place and bought a cheap car horn replacement.   I was only going to leave it on there long enough to pass inspection.  It has been a couple years now and it still works and sounds like a truck so people notice me.
---
Bob Smith (smithr)
Austin, Texas baby!
2010 Kawasaki Concours, Midnight Blue
COG 6197, CDA 107