Concours Owners Group (COG) Forum

Concours 14 Discussion (C14 / ZG1400 / 1400GTR) => Accessories C14 => Topic started by: SilverConnieRider on May 10, 2015, 10:48:05 pm

Title: McCruise
Post by: SilverConnieRider on May 10, 2015, 10:48:05 pm
So I was just wondering if anyone has installed a McCruise?

If so, how was it?
Any problems or difficult areas to work around?
What was the most difficult part of the install?

What made you decide on the McCruise over the "other" brand?   Would you buy or do it again?

Were there a lot of setups to get it to run perfect or did it work perfect first time you used it?

For what it's worth I'm really not interested in the Rostra cruise.  I know most of you would not spend 3 times as much for the McCruise.
So if you can shed any light on the McCruise I would really like to hear it.  Good or bad - as long as it's not about
being a fool for spending that kind of money.  :a102:
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: Ninja on May 10, 2015, 11:33:21 pm
I installed one on my 2010 and I thought the install was not that bad. The unit works great, just like an automobile cruise. I chose it over others mainly because it is designed and made specific for the C14 and the controls look like they belong on the bike. As for performance it works just as you would expect it too.

I no longer have the 2010 but I'm picking up a 2015 the end of the month and I will be installing a McCruise on the 2015.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: cuda on May 11, 2015, 09:41:34 am
They work great plug and play.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: Gypsy JR on May 11, 2015, 10:00:34 am
And I heard they switched over to an electric servo now, its no longer a vacuum based system. Which is better.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: kawcon14rider on May 11, 2015, 11:10:29 am
Had McCruise on my bike since Dec. 2007. Never had a problem and I use most of the time. :great:
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: cuda on May 11, 2015, 11:27:52 am
So why is it better ? I never heard of problems before ?
Since this is a new thing , how do you know the long term results?
But it's better right????????????????????????????
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: Gypsy JR on May 11, 2015, 04:36:42 pm
You can do your own research.  :rotflmao:
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: cuda on May 12, 2015, 01:30:44 pm
Mr. Knowitall can't back up his story?

Well I think a trailer behind a cycle is DUMB .... have a safe ride...

 http://forum.cog-online.org/index.php?topic=41437.0 (http://forum.cog-online.org/index.php?topic=41437.0)

 :rotflmao:

http://www.ajc.com/news/news/local/paulding-funeral-director-killed-in-freak-motorcyc/nX2rh/ (http://www.ajc.com/news/news/local/paulding-funeral-director-killed-in-freak-motorcyc/nX2rh/)

http://www.msgroup.org/forums/mtt/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4884 (http://www.msgroup.org/forums/mtt/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4884)
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: vquad on May 12, 2015, 04:49:38 pm
installed one on my '14 a few months ago.
took the weekend from start to finish(teardown,install,test drive and reassemble)...and worth every bit of time and money.
you will NEVER regret spending the money on the McCruise.
the most detailed booklet of instructions Ive ever experienced.

Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: ST eater on May 12, 2015, 11:03:32 pm
I see the price of this is $848, when I went to checkout the price went to Australian currency not US. Anybody have an idea of shipping to the US is?
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: ACISROC on May 12, 2015, 11:20:37 pm
Mr. Knowitall can't back up his story?

Well I think a trailer behind a cycle is DUMB .... have a safe ride...

 [url]http://forum.cog-online.org/index.php?topic=41437.0[/url] ([url]http://forum.cog-online.org/index.php?topic=41437.0[/url])

 :rotflmao:

[url]http://www.ajc.com/news/news/local/paulding-funeral-director-killed-in-freak-motorcyc/nX2rh/[/url] ([url]http://www.ajc.com/news/news/local/paulding-funeral-director-killed-in-freak-motorcyc/nX2rh/[/url])

[url]http://www.msgroup.org/forums/mtt/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4884[/url] ([url]http://www.msgroup.org/forums/mtt/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4884[/url])



       I pull a trailer.....I am moving to the southeast......I got your back J.R. :017: :violent-smiley-007: :nananana: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: TexRex02 on May 13, 2015, 01:51:39 am
I see the price of this is $848, when I went to checkout the price went to Australian currency not US. Anybody have an idea of shipping to the US is?
Approximately  $60 US to ship plus 1.7% - 3.5% payment surcharge. 
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: SilverConnieRider on May 13, 2015, 02:21:49 am
I see the price of this is $848, when I went to checkout the price went to Australian currency not US. Anybody have an idea of shipping to the US is?

On their site there is a button to show prices in US dollars.

Received mine today and the total was $943. Shipping was $70 something.  Might depend where in the USA you are.

Took about 4-5 days to receive it - so not to bad. 
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: ST eater on May 13, 2015, 08:31:20 pm
Thanks for the info. Now just to do it, got to pry the $ out of my hands ??? I know, it's  only money, and it's for the Connie  :)
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: cuda on May 13, 2015, 08:43:39 pm
Since I'm 60 I plan on keeping my girl FOREVER
So it was a easy decision to get it.
I'm STILL married to my high school girl friend ... not much changes in my life :beerchug:
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: RonLyke on May 16, 2015, 09:22:31 am

I just ordered mine. Are they all coming with the "on" led? I understand some of them didn't in the past.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: Steve on May 16, 2015, 10:29:27 am
Do you mean an LED backlight on the keypad to to illuminate the 3 buttons? All kits in nearly the last decade have had this.

Since this is a new thing , how do you know the long term results?
It took me 12 months to design the new servo, and they've been out in the field for 3 years now. I'm also interested in what will break first.

And I heard they switched over to an electric servo now, its no longer a vacuum based system. Which is better.
Vacuum servo is lighter, simpler, and repairable but you have to source good vacuum and corn based ethanol can stick shuttle vales over time. These units are no longer being manufactured and when we sell all our remaining stock every bike will need to switch to electric, or we pull it from sale.

Electric servos... people kept asking for them so we made one. Performance is the same as a good vacuum unit.

Silver if you email for a set of installation instructions you can see what you're in for.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: Flat-spot on May 16, 2015, 11:57:55 am

I just ordered mine. Are they all coming with the "on" led? I understand some of them didn't in the past.

I think your question applies to the Rostra unit,  not the McCruise.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: RonLyke on May 17, 2015, 08:03:54 am


I think your question applies to the Rostra unit,  not the McCruise.
[/quote]

Thanks.  I guess I was confused.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: RonLyke on May 17, 2015, 08:04:40 am

Are they waterproof?
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: RonLyke on May 19, 2015, 08:22:11 am
I just got this e-mail from Tony at McCruise. Apparently they're good for almost anything except scuba diving.

Hi Ron,
 
We build our switches to be water–resistant.  Trying to seal moisture out entirely simply does not work we find – so we put drain holes in the bottom and Plasticote the PCB with ‘waterproof’ switches.  They have been in service since 2001 and survived hurricanes.  On occasion they stop working – dry out over a couple of days and start working again, but conditions have to be extreme for that to happen.  I rode from Durant OK to Pueblo CO via Wichita City in Hurricane IKE in 2008 and my cruise never faltered.  Ran at 79mph and my only issue was aquaplaning!
 
The computer is potted in urethane to stop water ingress and vibration and has a ‘sealed’ connector.
 
The units are bloody tough and mostly just work!
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: SilverConnieRider on May 21, 2015, 10:45:49 pm
So if you ordered one - did you go with the upper or lower switch location?
You should of had a choice when placing the order.  I went with the lower one so the sun and (maybe) rain might not get to
the switches as easily.  Time will tell.

Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: ST eater on May 22, 2015, 12:26:17 am
Mine is on the way, I ordered the the above switch which they recommended if you use a tankbag which I always have on the bike. Can't wait to get started on it.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: SilverConnieRider on May 22, 2015, 12:59:32 am
If you have risers, I think you could go with either switch position. 
I don't have a tank bag yet but I don't think I would have any problems with mine in the lower position if I get one.
Lets face it, if you are turning your handlebars to the stop your probably not going very fast.  ;D

I'm sure you will like it as much as I do.  :great: :motonoises:
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: ST eater on May 22, 2015, 02:28:49 am
 When you're maneuvering in and out of tight spots and have to turn your handlebars to lock, it's a pain in the behind when you keep hitting your horn on your tankbag, but really how safe is it to hit your cruise control on a tankbag? To me better safe than sorry. Really the only way you should hit it in in forward motion would be full lock while making a tight slow turn, I  don't think there are very many people that can go full lock going fast. My nads aren't that big!  :truce:
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: kawcon14rider on May 22, 2015, 11:16:18 am
ST no need to worry about engaging the cruise if the tank bag hits the controls. The cruise will not engage under 25mph, I hope you never lock the handlebars at 25mph. 
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: ST eater on May 22, 2015, 02:45:48 pm
Just like my car, but then again, I don't want things hitting it unnecessarily. I think that's one of the reasons they recommend the the top switch. My real point was when doing a U turn or close quarters moving one can bump the switch, if you hit full lock at 25, things are going to fly bye you very fast, and that would totally suck! Thanks for the info, it's good to know for sure on something like that. Have a good day, finally a long weekend is almost here :beerchug:
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: SilverConnieRider on May 23, 2015, 12:48:50 am
Just like my car, but then again, I don't want things hitting it unnecessarily. I think that's one of the reasons they recommend the the top switch. My real point was when doing a U turn or close quarters moving one can bump the switch, if you hit full lock at 25, things are going to fly bye you very fast, and that would totally suck! Thanks for the info, it's good to know for sure on something like that. Have a good day, finally a long weekend is almost here :beerchug:

Well I guess your decision has already been made so this is really not an issue for you anymore.   :great:

Maybe I missed it but I never saw a place where they "recommend" the top switch - just a place where you can choose either a top or bottom switch location
when you order - if neither is chosen, then I believe it defaults to the top switch.

But just in case anyone else wants to know, there is no way your going to "bump" the switch if it is mounted in the lower position.  IMO.
I have to reach with my thumb in order to push a button.  Some times I have found it easier to take my left had off the grip and then use
either my thumb or a finger to push the SET button.  IF someone was really worried about bumping the button while doing a tight turn - you could
then just turn the unit OFF and then if you bumped the button (which I don't believe is possible) then nothing would happen.

But to each his own - I like my control switch on the bottom - Now I do need to tell you I have risers so that helps.  You can mount it on the bottom without
risers but it would be much closer to the gas tank missing it by about ½" - ¾" or so.  With my risers on, the closest part of the control switch is about 2" away
from the gas tank, when the handlebars are turned fully to the left.  About the only time I can think of that the handlebars would be turned to the stops (while moving)
are maybe when backing out of my garage or doing a u-turn both maneuvers would be at very slow speeds where the cruise can't engage.  Again JMO. 
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: Flat-spot on May 23, 2015, 02:08:38 am
There are many different sizes and shapes of tank bags (that the buttons can contact at full left lock).  I guess that's the element that you missed.  I have 4 tank bags,  2 of which I don't use any more because they honk the horn at the most awkward times.  Risers or adjustable handlebars are another variable that can cause trouble with control button contact with a tank bag.  If you would have read a little more carefully instead of coming to such an authoritative and definitive conclusion,  you would have noticed that the button interference problem was all about tank bags.  Concerning CC,  it's all moot anyway...no full lock happening at 25 mph.  That was already determined.  I have learned that it's important to read an entire thread very carefully before embarrassing myself with a reply that is not fully informed.  I still do it occasionally, though.

Just like my car, but then again, I don't want things hitting it unnecessarily. I think that's one of the reasons they recommend the the top switch. My real point was when doing a U turn or close quarters moving one can bump the switch, if you hit full lock at 25, things are going to fly bye you very fast, and that would totally suck! Thanks for the info, it's good to know for sure on something like that. Have a good day, finally a long weekend is almost here :beerchug:

Well I guess your decision has already been made so this is really not an issue for you anymore.   :great:

Maybe I missed it but I never saw a place where they "recommend" the top switch - just a place where you can choose either a top or bottom switch location
when you order - if neither is chosen, then I believe it defaults to the top switch.

But just in case anyone else wants to know, there is no way your going to "bump" the switch if it is mounted in the lower position.  IMO.
I have to reach with my thumb in order to push a button.  Some times I have found it easier to take my left had off the grip and then use
either my thumb or a finger to push the SET button.  IF someone was really worried about bumping the button while doing a tight turn - you could
then just turn the unit OFF and then if you bumped the button (which I don't believe is possible) then nothing would happen.

But to each his own - I like my control switch on the bottom - Now I do need to tell you I have risers so that helps.  You can mount it on the bottom without
risers but it would be much closer to the gas tank missing it by about ½" - ¾" or so.  With my risers on, the closest part of the control switch is about 2" away
from the gas tank, when the handlebars are turned fully to the left.  About the only time I can think of that the handlebars would be turned to the stops (while moving)
are maybe when backing out of my garage or doing a u-turn both maneuvers would be at very slow speeds where the cruise can't engage.  Again JMO. 
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: cuda on May 23, 2015, 09:05:59 am
I LIKE my switch on top , and not because of any tank bag issues, being on top is more convenient :campfire:
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: RonLyke on May 23, 2015, 05:58:21 pm
I ordered the top.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: SilverConnieRider on May 24, 2015, 02:13:31 pm
I ordered the top.

It will be interesting to here what you think of the quality of the product and how your install goes.

Since you ordered the top maybe you can take a pictures of that.   :beerchug:
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: RonLyke on June 29, 2015, 12:29:06 am
I had it installed by the dealer & picked it up last Thursday. It works great! No more chasing the speedometer needle up & down. The dealer said the instructions were very clear---a long job, but straight forward with no surprises. Looks great, too---like it came with the bike.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: backoutonthehighway on June 30, 2015, 07:11:55 pm
I had it installed by the dealer & picked it up last Thursday. It works great! No more chasing the speedometer needle up & down. The dealer said the instructions were very clear---a long job, but straight forward with no surprises. Looks great, too---like it came with the bike.

And what kind sir, if you don't mind sharing, did you pay for said installation?
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: RonLyke on July 02, 2015, 09:25:37 am

The whole thing---parts, labor & tax=about $1800.00.  An awful amount of money, but I really didn't want to spend time twisting my 68 year old lame back into cramps & spasms when I could pay someone else to do it. I recommend the unit, but the cost of installation may not be for everyone. On the other hand, I see other owners of various bikes spending a lot more than that on accessories - farkles - that do nothing to enhance the functionality of the bike. To each his own, I guess.  FWIW
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: Flat-spot on July 02, 2015, 10:37:35 am

The whole thing---parts, labor & tax=about $1800.00.  An awful amount of money, but I really didn't want to spend time twisting my 68 year old lame back into cramps & spasms when I could pay someone else to do it. I recommend the unit, but the cost of installation may not be for everyone. On the other hand, I see other owners of various bikes spending a lot more than that on accessories - farkles - that do nothing to enhance the functionality of the bike. To each his own, I guess.  FWIW

Boy-o-boy did you smack the truth nail on the head with that statement!  I wish I would've bought better suspension before I bought more horsepower.  Hmm...hindsight. :(
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: RonLyke on July 02, 2015, 07:22:03 pm
I certainly hope I didn't offend anyone with that statement;  it's just an acknowledgement that there are different choices that may be made.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: Flat-spot on July 02, 2015, 10:03:44 pm
Nah, don't worry 'bout it, Ron.  I was bein' sincere.  I love the power, but really wish I could afford suspension right now. 
I'm pretty good at offending, myself, but I get over it.  :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: backoutonthehighway on July 03, 2015, 03:57:30 pm

The whole thing---parts, labor & tax=about $1800.00.  An awful amount of money, but I really didn't want to spend time twisting my 68 year old lame back into cramps & spasms when I could pay someone else to do it. I recommend the unit, but the cost of installation may not be for everyone. On the other hand, I see other owners of various bikes spending a lot more than that on accessories - farkles - that do nothing to enhance the functionality of the bike. To each his own, I guess.  FWIW

Thanks. That's about what I guessed, but it is nice to have confirmation. My farkles so far are weighted heavily into safety/protection (modulators, reflective stickers, canyon cages, tank protectors, etc...), comfort (saddle, risers, windscreen, ports for heated gear etc...), or functionality (powered tankbag, bag-liners, etc...)

Just now thinking about performance upgrades (other than tires - those were first) like the cruise control, reflashing, and suspension.

Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: RonLyke on July 04, 2015, 08:31:06 am
The first things I bought were the Canyon cages---Tupperware's expensive! Fortunately, I haven't yet tested my tipover switch. I bought the bike as a demonstrator with about 40 miles on it, and it came with Heli-Bars, which I love!
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: Dave_Wilton on July 06, 2015, 01:21:35 am
I put mc cruise on a couple of years ago. Works pretty good. Cuts down on fatigue by keeping speed under control. Total cost for me, installed, was under $1500 Cdn....that was when our dollar was near par. Wouldn't want a C14 without cruise now.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: BerndV on July 10, 2015, 02:34:53 pm
I just ordered one.  I'm gonna install it myself...I enjoy working on my machines, it's half the fun. 
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: ST eater on July 10, 2015, 09:21:02 pm
I have about 1500mi on my MC now, love it. Took about 5-6hrs to install. Worked like a charm first time, take your time, great instructions. Have fun doing it, it's not that bad.
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: SilverConnieRider on July 25, 2015, 02:14:58 am
I just ordered one.  I'm gonna install it myself...I enjoy working on my machines, it's half the fun.

So did you get it installed?

I agree that if you take your time the unit will work very well for you.
I needed a little fine tuning but it has been running great.  Hard to believe how well it holds the speed even going up hills.

Be forewarned that you might not want to ride with other people that don't have a cruise control as it becomes very
noticeable that they can't hold a steady speed.  Best advice I can give there is LEAD don't follow as that seems to be better then
them slowing down and you either having to slow down or cancel the cruise control just because they can't hold a steady speed.

Funny, the little things you notice when you have the right equipment.  It's more car-like on longer trips.

I know that I wouldn't want to be without a cruise control on any bike ever again.   :great:

I know IF I ever get another road bike in my life, it will either have cruise control from the factory or it will be on the list
of McCruise units available for whatever bike I choose or I will pass the bike by,  if it's not available - that's how much I believe in a cruise for a bike.  ;D
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: Bubba on July 25, 2015, 02:10:17 pm
Been waiting around a month to install mine. Waiting for area p system and ak-20/penske tp show up first so I can knock out and tear down one time and send off ecu. But one thing I havent seen in many of the posts is pre install/out of the box picture.  So here yall go. After reading instructions a few times and wiring a few race cars, this looks to be about as close to plug and play as it gets. Instructions are clear and the pictures are step by step. Cant wait to install  once the last goodies come in.
(http://i1350.photobucket.com/albums/p769/BubbaLR308/20150725_075334_zpstupjyl25_edit_1437836882102_zpsvkqbi72k.jpg)
Title: Re: McCruise
Post by: Cap'n Bob on July 25, 2015, 05:10:41 pm
I have installed a couple of the older vacuum versions on bikes. And have personally owned two systems on different motorcycles over many years. I have never had any problems at all other than the one I created myself when I inadvertently hit a button and changed on of the settings.  :-[