Author Topic: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise  (Read 5460 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ghostrider990

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1149
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #25 on: February 13, 2016, 10:07:32 pm »
I emailed murph on the Covers.....I'll report back.
My Horns have Horns.

Offline Sailor_chic

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1566
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 11610
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #26 on: February 13, 2016, 10:50:49 pm »
Until then, my method is proven.
Nicole     Port St Lucie, FL.
2013 C14 Black  
2006 Vmax
IBA # 60267

Offline C14lvr

  • Street Cruiser
  • ****
  • Posts: 859
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #27 on: February 15, 2016, 01:11:17 pm »
Until then, my method is proven.

+1. That's how I've waterproofed all of my switches.  So far, -0- problems.

I got one of those slip-over rubber covers with my kit, but saw quickly that I didn't like that.

One area those type covers won't seal is on the back, where the wires exit the switch.

The only person I've heard say that this method has not worked for them has been BDF.
He's posted pictures of three switches that were totally corroded.
Still not sure how that happened.

I've ridden through many "toad strangler" rain storms, and never had anything happen like that.
Now, I always park mine under cover and use a waterproof cover.
If I've ridden in a lot of rain, I will wipe it down good with a towel before I cover it for the night.

-and I don't live in the northern climate zone, either. So, that may be a difference?
2011 C14 ABS (current bike)
1982 Yamaha XJ1100J (sold)
1979 Yamaha XS11 (3200 original miles)
In the warden's words from Cool Hand Luke;
"What we have here is a failure to communicate."

Offline dixie

  • whatcom
  • Bicycle
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • whatcom
  • AREA: Northwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #28 on: February 15, 2016, 04:43:05 pm »
After several trial and errors with the silicon sealant and the covers, follwed the advice of another member and just smeared a thin film of fishing reel grease on both sides of circuit board- so simple, the contacts always work, no corrosion buildup, no need to cover and seal, is waterproof. Stands up to washing and weather too.
You do not need the Rostra control, an on/off and a on/off/on switch works well too (in instructions)! I did both, installed the Rostra control on the left and also in parallel installed the two switches underneith the throttle on the right and have control with both hands, very convinient.   

Offline ghostrider990

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1149
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #29 on: February 24, 2016, 01:27:30 am »
What exactly is "fishing reel grease"????   :o

My Horns have Horns.

Offline Sailor_chic

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1566
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 11610
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #30 on: February 24, 2016, 04:06:42 am »
Oh, that's grease for a fishing reel!  :)
Nicole     Port St Lucie, FL.
2013 C14 Black  
2006 Vmax
IBA # 60267

Offline Bigfoot_16

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1042
  • I prefer bikes with more horsepower than noise.
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #31 on: February 24, 2016, 05:07:56 am »
Oh, that's grease for a fishing reel!  :)
Bwaaa haaaa! Too funny, Nicole. :)
Jim

2015 Concours 14

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul. Steve's ECU flash stirs the soul!

Offline RodneyW

  • Mini Bike
  • **
  • Posts: 160
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #32 on: February 24, 2016, 01:09:17 pm »
I'm going to install a Rosta in the next day or so.  I've done it on other bikes, so I don't think it will be too bad, but I am wondering about opinions on the best place for the servo unit.  I have searched and read, and it appears that most place it down low in front, on the left side.  Is this the preferred spot?

Offline Bigfoot_16

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1042
  • I prefer bikes with more horsepower than noise.
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #33 on: February 24, 2016, 01:14:59 pm »
Rodney, on a C14, a better location may be in front of the gas tank on the right side underneath the fairing, if you don't have a smog control unit there. That's where Nicole located hers.
Jim

2015 Concours 14

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul. Steve's ECU flash stirs the soul!

Offline Big-Al

  • Scooter
  • ***
  • Posts: 261
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #34 on: February 24, 2016, 01:57:32 pm »
I'm going to install a Rosta in the next day or so.  I've done it on other bikes, so I don't think it will be too bad, but I am wondering about opinions on the best place for the servo unit.  I have searched and read, and it appears that most place it down low in front, on the left side.  Is this the preferred spot?


I mounted mine top right of tank about 3 years ago and has worked fine in that location.

Here's a picture I took showing horn compressor location that just happens to show actuator location also.
http://forum.cog-online.org/index.php?topic=63556.msg508925#msg508925

Many have located in this location from years back with good results. Suggest you do some searches for "Rostra" on COG to show you the many details of the install.
2012 Kawasaki Concours (Arabian Red) (1400cc)
2008 BMW K1200GT (1200cc)
2004 BMW K1200GT (1200cc)
1998 BMW K1200RS (1200cc)
1991 BMW K1 (1000cc)
1986 BMW K100 LT (1000cc)
1980 BMW R100 RT (1000cc)
1975 BMW R90/6 (900cc)
1972 BSA Lightning (750cc)
1970 Norton Commando (750cc)
1969 Triumph Bonneville (650cc)
1968 Harley Davidson Sprint (250cc)
1967 Honda Super Hawk (305cc)
1967 Honda Cub (65cc)

Offline RodneyW

  • Mini Bike
  • **
  • Posts: 160
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #35 on: February 24, 2016, 01:58:43 pm »
Thanks Jim.  I don't suppose anyone (Nicole?) would happen to have a pic of that?  I'm wondering about the routing of the cable. It sounds like it is somehow run under the tank? 

Offline RodneyW

  • Mini Bike
  • **
  • Posts: 160
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #36 on: February 24, 2016, 02:00:03 pm »
I'm going to install a Rosta in the next day or so.  I've done it on other bikes, so I don't think it will be too bad, but I am wondering about opinions on the best place for the servo unit.  I have searched and read, and it appears that most place it down low in front, on the left side.  Is this the preferred spot?


I mounted mine top right of tank about 3 years ago and has worked fine in that location.

Here's a picture I took showing horn compressor location that just happens to show actuator location also.
http://forum.cog-online.org/index.php?topic=63556.msg508925#msg508925

Many have located in this location from years back with good results. Suggest you do some searches for "Rostra" on COG to show you the many details of the install.

I've nearly worn out my search button on this one!  Thanks for the photo!

Offline mattchewn

  • I Need a Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 5208
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 10993
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #37 on: February 24, 2016, 02:09:58 pm »
Rodney,
Mine is mounted down on the left side of the radiator. This location does not work if you have Canyon Cages though. So if you have them or plan on getting them something to consider. Having the unit tucked in behind the fairing is nice, and leaves room for my Stebel compressor up on the right side under the upper panel!
Matt
2018 H2 SXSE.  (FAT SXSE)
2011 GSX1250 FA
2009 Ninja 500R. (wifes')
2001 Bandit 650  (kids')

Offline C14lvr

  • Street Cruiser
  • ****
  • Posts: 859
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #38 on: February 24, 2016, 04:39:00 pm »
Rodney,
Mine is mounted down on the left side of the radiator. This location does not work if you have Canyon Cages though. So if you have them or plan on getting them something to consider. Having the unit tucked in behind the fairing is nice, and leaves room for my Stebel compressor up on the right side under the upper panel!
Matt

+1. I agree with Matt.

I have my horn mounted front/top/right. So I placed my servo lower left. I remember at the time, I was concerned about heat harming the servo. Almost 4 years now... no problems.

BDF had recommended this location, and told me not to worry, it would be fine there.

It is a tight fit, though. And tip over protection can be an issue. Matt's right.

I prefer this location because then, everything's on the left side. Less to take apart!
2011 C14 ABS (current bike)
1982 Yamaha XJ1100J (sold)
1979 Yamaha XS11 (3200 original miles)
In the warden's words from Cool Hand Luke;
"What we have here is a failure to communicate."

Offline RodneyW

  • Mini Bike
  • **
  • Posts: 160
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #39 on: February 24, 2016, 05:10:04 pm »
Thank you both for the opinions.  I've got everything apart (did coolant flush and air filter change also), so that part doesn't matter.  As long as no one has reported issues with failure due to heat, I think lower left gets my vote.  Rodney

Offline C14lvr

  • Street Cruiser
  • ****
  • Posts: 859
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #40 on: February 24, 2016, 06:55:16 pm »
Rodney,
Another thing I like about having it on the lower left is I can get to the dip switches if I need to make a change or see the diagnostic LED light if I have a problem, all without taking anything apart.
2011 C14 ABS (current bike)
1982 Yamaha XJ1100J (sold)
1979 Yamaha XS11 (3200 original miles)
In the warden's words from Cool Hand Luke;
"What we have here is a failure to communicate."

Offline Sailor_chic

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1566
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 11610
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #41 on: February 24, 2016, 07:17:52 pm »
If it's on the right side under the black cover, it's easily accessible and no fairings have to be removed.

Rodney, I have pics on my PC at home.
Nicole     Port St Lucie, FL.
2013 C14 Black  
2006 Vmax
IBA # 60267

Offline Bigfoot_16

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1042
  • I prefer bikes with more horsepower than noise.
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #42 on: February 24, 2016, 10:58:30 pm »
Rodney,
Mine is mounted down on the left side of the radiator. This location does not work if you have Canyon Cages though. So if you have them or plan on getting them something to consider. Having the unit tucked in behind the fairing is nice, and leaves room for my Stebel compressor up on the right side under the upper panel!
Matt
Matt,

Actually it does work, but it's not easy to contort the bracket to hold it there. I have a smog control box to the right of my gas tank and couldn't put the servo there, so I had to go with the lower left radiator location - with the Canyon Cages. Yeah, it's a tight fit.
Jim

2015 Concours 14

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul. Steve's ECU flash stirs the soul!

Offline jawneelogik

  • Tricycle
  • Posts: 18
  • Keep the rubber side down
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #43 on: February 27, 2016, 02:41:17 pm »
If I may make a suggestion on sealing the switches?
Remove the front cover. Then remove the rubber keypad from the cover. Apply silicone sealant to inside of the cover and replace the rubber keypad.  This will seal the face of the switch housing.  Once the cover is reinstalled onto switch body, use silicone sealant to close the gaps on the back side.
This is how I have done mine, and it seems to be quite effective. I have ridden in torrential downpours for extended periods, with this setup.

That is how I did mine as well.  I also gooped up the outside of the plastic mounting plate then slid the top cover over it.  It snapped into place and squeezed out all the excess silicone which I then squeegeed off.  I used a good quality outdoor UV resistant product that should last a good while.
John
2010 Kawi ZG1400ABS, 2000 Suzi Bandito 1200s
1985 Suzi GS1150, 1982 Suzi GS1100
1978 Suzi GS1000, 1975 Kawi 900
1973 Honda CB350F

Offline konehead

  • Road Bike
  • ***
  • Posts: 316
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 9065
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Question for those who installed Rostra Cruise
« Reply #44 on: March 26, 2019, 11:34:51 pm »
Hey bigfoot, do u happen to have any pics of the unit installed on the left side with the canyon cages installed.  I'd like to see how u did it there.  I dont wanna hve to move my aux fuse block and relays from the right side if I dont have to..