Author Topic: why 3 types of WIX oil filters?  (Read 1653 times)

Offline genghis

• Big Wheels
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
why 3 types of WIX oil filters?
« on: June 06, 2017, 01:13:26 am »
So, I'm still new here and trying to find answers on my own before clogging up the forum.  I have a question:  Why are there 3 WIX filters in the list of parts and accessories?  (short, long and regular)  I would assume the long would allow for more time between filter changes?  Are there any fitment/access issues with any of them?  I've been using WIX on all my bikes for the last 6 years or so and I want to be sure I'm getting the right one for my bike.  Thanks!
2008 C14 64,000 miles, really enjoying my first Connie!

Offline C. Moore

• Crotch Rocket
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 6662
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: why 3 types of WIX oil filters?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2017, 09:57:10 am »
Hi Genghis, they are in the list because they all fit. I recall Purolator made short and long ones that fit the C10 once you did the oil filter conversion. I guess it's personal preference as to which one you use. I personally use the K&N 303. I like the nut on the end.
'10 C14  Dallas, Texas
CDA #523
COG# 6662

Offline Jerdurr

• Street Cruiser
  • AREA: Northeast Area
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2017, 11:53:06 am »
Hi Genghis, they are in the list because they all fit. I recall Purolator made short and long ones that fit the C10 once you did the oil filter conversion. I guess it's personal preference as to which one you use. I personally use the K&N 303. I like the nut on the end.