Author Topic: 1 or 2 feet down? Question for my height challenged friends  (Read 2580 times)

Offline Skiee

• Road Bike
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: 11459
  • Membership Level: Active
1 or 2 feet down? Question for my height challenged friends
« on: September 04, 2014, 08:11:05 pm »
Sitting at a light this morning, I began to think about this.

I'm a small guy. 5'8" and 130ish. I have a decent inseam though, 32 inches. But even with this inseam I struggle to keep my feet flat on the road.The combination of height and width of the Connie, I guess. Usually I have both feet touch but not flat by any means. THIS IS A HEAVY BIKE!! I don't trust myself keeping one foot on the ground. I think one of my drops was because I tried the one-foot down idea. I'm much more comfy just to have both down. I'm not a newbie. Been riding for over 30 years but by far this is the heaviest bike that I've ever owned!! I LOVE Francis but she does scare the s#!t out of me at a stand still!! 

Do any of you do the one-foot down at a light/sign? Are there any "secrets" I should know that will help with the fear of dropping my baby if my lean gets too much?? All replies are appreciated!!!

Norm
2009 Concours 14 (Francis)
AMA# 3044870
CDA# 510

Offline Gypsy JR

• American Gypsy
  • I Need a Life
  • Living the Gypsy Life
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 9279
Re: 1 or 2 feet down? Question for my height challenged friends
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2014, 08:35:46 pm »
I have a short inseam (relatively speaking) so the C14 was difficult for me. I found I couldn't begin to handle it coming to a stop on bumpy or unlevel surfaces without wearing boots with thick soles, and even that was unsatisfactory.

And yes, she is very heavy, and a lot of it is in the top half.

So I lowered mine, and that went a long way to solving the problem. Of course, it means I can't lean as far as I'd like to sometimes, but I'm getting more conservative in my old age anyway. So I don't often miss it.