Author Topic: 1st valve job 54,000 miles ?  (Read 818 times)

Offline Pittsburgh_Clem

• Road Bike
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 11340
  • Membership Level: Active
1st valve job 54,000 miles ?
« on: March 24, 2018, 07:25:46 pm »
I was the second owner and she had 16,000  not sure if the valves were done before. Fast forward to 54,000. took her in for the 60,000 service. Only thing I have ever done is tires and oil. Comments from the service tech.
Valve  adjustment were required on the exhaust valve locations 1 & 2 as well as location 5 & 6 they were measured at .11 mm which was tighter than the .19mm min that the service manual states.
The intake valves required adjustment at the 5 & 6 location measuring .102 under the .12mm min

Just wanted to share  I am not Tech Savvy   As long as she purrs I'm happy  :beerchug: 
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover – Mark Twain.

Offline MAN OF BLUES

• I Need a Life
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 5977
Re: 1st valve job 54,000 miles ?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2018, 08:02:43 pm »
Did they take the time, while doing this, to record all of the clearances, and shims installed in each position (even the unchanged ones) for future usage in calculating and replacement purposes on future services?
Just asking, as this info when recorded, is worth a lot downstream, so the process can be simplified later in time when others begin to change.

30 YEARS OF KAW.....Rich R. (the other one..)  COG 5977  JUSTAMEMBAHNOW

Offline Pittsburgh_Clem

• Road Bike
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2018, 09:08:46 pm »
I asked  and this is all I got. The only reason I asked is I see a lot of talk on the subject. :)