Author Topic: Proposal for a new and improved way of de linking the rear to front brake link  (Read 2449 times)

Offline Illo

• Tricycle
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Hello everybody.  My name is Fred Alberni and I go by the name Illo here in the forums.  I am a few months away from 70 years old and I am retired with a background mechanical engineering, large industrial transmissions.  I am by no means an expert in hydraulics.  But I have a reasonable understanding it.  I bought my 2012 C14 about three weeks ago but haven't taken delivery of it due to the cold weather in the area, SW Ontario, Canada.  I knew before hand about the issue the 2010 to 2014 models with linked brake systems have.  I was hoping to either learn to live with it, or find out if there is mod that can be done.  I've been reading in the forums about the issue until I came across this solution offered by Mr. Randy N on May 7, 2013.  Here's the link to that discussion:

http://forum.cog-online.org/concours-14-zg1400-general-chat-and-tech/linked-brakes-fixed/

Although Randy's solution fixes the problem for a lot of people, some people, such as myself, would like to have the benefit of ABS on the rear brakes, as well as the front front brakes, without the intrusion of the rear brake on the front.

I've shown Randy's modification on a schematic as shown below:

Schematic of Randy N's mod

The solution I am about to describe would do the following:

- Maintain front ABS
- Maintain rear ABS
- Front brake lever would actuate rear brake as usual
- Rear brake pedal WOULD NOT actuate front brake
- Front and rear brakes can be applied simultaneously without the front of the bike diving