Author Topic: Secondary Butterfly Maps Revealed  (Read 10753 times)

Offline Gypsy JR

• American Gypsy
  • I Need a Life
  • Living the Gypsy Life
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 9279
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Secondary Butterfly Maps Revealed
« Reply #25 on: October 19, 2011, 05:01:01 pm »
Heh, not what Dynotronics says. This gets more interesting by the minute. What is the difference between what they do?

By the way, the ZX14 ECU was first downloaded in 2007 I think, by HealTech, trying to figure out how to get rid of the decel backfire without losing the gear indicator. They couldn't figure out how to do it, and gave up on it 2 years later.  Guhl is the first I heard of to offer a reflashed ECU for the ZX14 engine.

I have no idea what Dynotronics is telling you, but they are two totally different companies and none of the work that Don Guhl is doing is based on anything that Dynotronics is doing. I've been working with Don on this project for almost two years now. He and I developed this tune totally on our own, and the primary focus of it is to open the secondary butterflies. The adjustments to the fuel map are small potatoes compared to the butterfly map, and the fuel adjustments are pretty minor, it just tries to reduce some of the over richness that Kawasaki programmed in to bring it in closer to 13.2 to 13.4 range (~ .89 lamba). The big benifets of the Guhl reflash are from opening up the butterflies further and sooner. Go back to page one of this thread and watch the Utube videos I posted showing the butterfly opening rates.

I watched those videos intently, and they are what sold me on the idea of paying for a reflashed ECU.

Here is a direct cut and paste of the email I just got from Dynotronics.