Author Topic: Cam Chain & Tensioner (I think) Question  (Read 15574 times)

Offline Buzzard

• Mini Bike
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Cam Chain & Tensioner (I think) Question
« Reply #50 on: February 07, 2018, 07:09:00 pm »
The video shows much the same way that the workshop manual shows. The videos from FH show a different method, not using the single groove at the end of the piston, but catching the last of the saw tooth grooves. I have never done this before, but it sure worked well in the video from FH. When you play with the tensioner, it becomes obvious that any push on the tensioner piston from the cam chain will release the catch. With the piston protruding out an extra 3/8 inch, it seems just a little more certain that the piston catch will release. On the one hand, I wish I had a ton of experience to speak from, on the other, I'm glad that this is probably the last, or next to last time I will have to set these valves. It's a job. But what the heck, it's cold out, and the garage is heated. I sure don't trust my local dealer to do this.

Offline Dirtwiz

• Road Bike
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: 12372
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Cam Chain & Tensioner (I think) Question
« Reply #51 on: February 08, 2018, 11:09:42 pm »