Author Topic: Engine temp  (Read 1270 times)

Offline Capn' Kirk

• Tricycle
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Engine temp
« on: January 07, 2018, 04:53:14 pm »
Hi all,

I bought a brand new 2017 C14 yesterday and noticed some odd temp behavior. Everything was just fine during the 75 mile trip home from the stealership, but later yesterday afternoon I rode a few miles to pick up some takeout. All was well on the way, but after getting the food, when I fired up the bike the fan immediately kicked on and the temp gauge was pinned. It came down a bit when I started riding, though the fan kicked on once or twice on the way home.

Is this normal?

FWIW, I went out again last night to get some food for my oscar - pretty much the same distance and time off the bike - no temp issues.

Capn'
2017 C14
Bay Area, CA

Previous bikes: Triumph Trophy SE 1200, Yamaha V Star 1300, Yamaha FJR1300, Yamaha Venture 1200, Yamaha Seca 750, Yamaha Eleven Special, Kawasaki ZX-11, Honda PC800 Pacific Coast, Honda VTX 1300, Honda GL1000 Goldwing, Honda CB750Four, Honda GL500 Silverwing

Offline Cap'n Bob

• GOLD STAR
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 7134
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Engine temp
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2018, 07:59:10 pm »
Nope, not normal. The temp should never be pinned. It sounds like you may have a problem. You have the choice of take it back to the dealer under warranty, or troubleshoot it yourself. I personally would probably do the basic checks myself first considering how far away your dealer is. But I also would not get too carried away either since they are responsible to provide you with a working motorcycle. First things first. Check the coolant level.  >:(

Offline jwh20

• Crotch Rocket
  • AREA: North Central Area
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2018, 08:02:12 pm »