Author Topic: Engine Vibration Through Handlebars  (Read 1274 times)

Offline Tom

• Big Wheels
  • AREA: Northwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Engine Vibration Through Handlebars
« on: May 11, 2018, 03:42:06 pm »
I am a Northern California year round motorcycle commuter and looking at replacing 2003 BMW K1200RS winter bike with a Concours 14.  The price for a new one is within my budget and it looks great on paper and reviews.  The issue I have had is over the past 6 months I found two used bikes at dealerships a 2013 with 60K miles on it and a 2014 with 30K on it and they both had a serious vibration in the handlebars around 4500 RPM.  I wanted to try used bikes before purchasing a new one to see how the bike is after I put a lot of miles on it.  Because I am a mechanic by trade and I do ALL the work on my motorcycles my first thought on the first bike I test rode was that is was just beat up real bad and was out of tune.  I told the dealer this before I left.  Now, I just test rode another one yesterday at a different dealership and it ran smoother that the one before but still had the vibration in the handlebars and though the gas tank into my knees like the previous one.  In comparison also have a 2014 Suzuki Hayabusa I ride in the spring and summer months and it is not as smooth as my BMW but it does not have any vibration issues at any RPM. 

Searching the forums on this issue I see there are various posts dealing with this issue with the fix tightening up the motor mounts.  However, some posts state after riding the bike for a while it comes back.

Question for all.  Is this a common issue with these bikes or is this a rare condition that possibly the two used bikes I test rode were traded in because they had the problem?

Anyone know what Kawasaki warranty department is saying if I purchase a new one and have this issue while under warranty. 

Thanks

Offline Colt45

• Scooter
  • COGnito Ergo Zoom
  • AREA: Southeast Area