Author Topic: First valve adjust observations  (Read 3201 times)

Offline Gumby

• Officer
  • Sport Tourer
  • Black 2011
  • AREA: Northwest Area
  • COG#: 10640
  • Membership Level: Area Director
Re: First valve adjust observations
« Reply #25 on: November 25, 2017, 03:30:46 am »
As an officer I am going out on a limb posting this, but I would like to say instead of trying to moderate the forum please try to self moderate your posts Rich. 

I am curious why you go to such an extreme to tell Fred to post in the Industry Member section when only a week ago you promoted/advertised his videos in another post NOT in the Industry Member section.

Well, the slave cylinder is in the same place on all the engines, so if you have Fred's videos, you should be able to ascertain how much more plastic needs removed to see it... kinda a dumb answer on my part, but realistically its a simple task, if taken on methodically, and a lot less technical than other issues that may pop up while doing a bleed job and fluid replacement. Which will likely happen, as history has shown here.
I have an 86, so I can't say just how much has to come off, but the improved lower heat baffle surly is one, don't think there is more to it than that.
Unfortunatly this is sounding like the proverbial "half hour job" that may turn into a multi day nightmare at this point, knowing some of the issues that go along with admitting air into the clutch system on this task.
Be bold, jump in and start taking stuff off, be careful to remove all fasteners before trying to force panels to the breaking point...
Best of luck.

Let's stop beating up on each other on the forum and go back to helping each other out doing what we love to do... RIDE!

Online TimR

• Global Moderator
  • Iron Butt
  • AREA: Northwest Area
  • COG#: 9032
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
« Reply #26 on: November 25, 2017, 05:50:20 am »