Author Topic: Need help, low speed accident, is my bike safe???  (Read 1426 times)

Offline Cracker

• Big Wheels
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Need help, low speed accident, is my bike safe???
« on: March 24, 2018, 01:50:44 pm »
Hi, new member , my name is Don. I've been riding for 20+ years & have owned a lot of bikes (couple Honda cruisers, 2 Valkyrie, ST1300, FJR1300, Kaw KZ1000P, Triumph 1050 & Explorer)  & now a new owner of a 2014 Concours. Just got it delivered last week, & have put about 300 miles on it so far & it is better then I imagined it would be. Soooo nice & smooth & eats up the terrible roads here in no.
 Anyway, I pulled out of my driveway yesterday to go for a little ride & a pizza delivery guy was driving a few car lengths in front of me. He missed his house so he stopped in the middle of the road, put the car in reverse & proceeded to back up , all without looking behind him.(see video)  So, my big concern is if the integrity of the back is in question & how do I determine if it has been compromised. I don't want to leave this totally up the the ins. Adjuster  Who may just opt to make her pretty again.
Any suggestions?
I did notice that when I turn the handlebars all the way, the clutch & brake res. Hit the windshield. I have a stock Kawasaki shield with  (I think) 2" risers.
I was hoping that someone might have this same setup so we can compare results. That might ease my mind.
Thanks for your help.

PS, a big thank yu to Fred who has spent alot of time helping me login.  :beerchug:

https://youtu.be/NPDyjzCvk84
« Last Edit: March 24, 2018, 02:05:11 pm by Cracker, Reason: spelling »
"Never ride faster then your Guardian angel can Fly"

Offline Jim

• Scooter
  • COG#: forum
Re: Need help, low speed accident, is my bike safe???
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2018, 02:20:00 pm »