Author Topic: New Concours owner seeking advise.  (Read 1987 times)

Offline jackcarls0n

• Tricycle
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
New Concours owner seeking advise.
« on: October 13, 2018, 05:58:33 pm »
Hello to everyone,

Great to see that a COGs forum exists on the internet. I have been riding for about 16 years and took some time off from owning a Motorcycle (was on the road too much). Was in the market to get a motorcycle and really loved the 2018 Kawasaki Concours right away. I didn't even know about the fan following for the bike. It checked all the boxes and I am finally a proud owner of a new Connie (my boss's name is Connie too, ironic)!

Anyhow, I did some research about the bike and read a lot about the mods etc. I want to keep the bike as stock as possible. However, I am interested in few mods so it lasts a long time. I am a daily rider kind of person and will take long trips once in a while. Would be great to get some advise from the folks here, would really appreciate it and thanks a lot in advance.

I) I am interested in getting a top case. Something smaller, maybe a 37-40 L. Main question is about installation and operation! I looked into the OEM case from Kawasaki. It is listed for about $270 on the website! Does it come with a brake light or is that something I have to install separately? GIVI and the Shad are available with the brake light and backrest kit. Not sure which one is cheaper! How does the brake light in the top case connect to the bike, is it permanent, or something that you can disconnect when you remove the case? I couldn't find any info on this. Also, can a bike shop install the top case mounting rack? Or I have to take it to the dealer. Little bit confused about this part! If someone can clarify or help would be great.