Author Topic: Upgrade for C14 Horn  (Read 6921 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Landon

  • Scooter
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #25 on: January 13, 2016, 12:21:49 am »
I've got a Stebel sitting on my workbench just waiting for me to get around to installing it.
Landon
2012 C14 Arabian Red

Offline MikeB_CA

  • Road Bike
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #26 on: January 13, 2016, 02:27:51 am »
Could you provide some photo's of  your install of the Fiamm two tone horns and how you dealt with the need for two sets of wires to the horns? I tried to install a two horn set on my C14 at the original location and could not make them fit. Thanks

Fork
Fork,


Here's a photo of my installation location.


Bigfoot, what model number did you buy?
Mike, 72102 and 72012.

Bigfoot, one more thing, did you have to create a bracket for mounting the 2 horns?

Offline Bigfoot_16

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1042
  • I prefer bikes with more horsepower than noise.
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #27 on: January 13, 2016, 01:42:38 pm »
Could you provide some photo's of  your install of the Fiamm two tone horns and how you dealt with the need for two sets of wires to the horns? I tried to install a two horn set on my C14 at the original location and could not make them fit. Thanks

Fork
Fork,


Here's a photo of my installation location.


Bigfoot, what model number did you buy?
Mike, 72102 and 72012.

Bigfoot, one more thing, did you have to create a bracket for mounting the 2 horns?
Mike, no. I used the brackets that came with the horns.
Jim

2015 Concours 14

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul. Steve's ECU flash stirs the soul!

Offline MikeB_CA

  • Road Bike
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #28 on: January 13, 2016, 03:02:25 pm »
Mike, no. I used the brackets that came with the horns.

Thanks!

Offline Silverfox1951

  • Big Wheels
  • Posts: 4
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: Forum subscr
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #29 on: January 14, 2016, 01:00:46 am »
Wow! More information than I thought. I do have one follow up. For those of you using a relay, did you connect it to the leads on the original horn? I'd like to be able to use the bike's stock horn button.

Offline Flat-spot

  • Sport Tourer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2518
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 11111
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #30 on: January 14, 2016, 01:09:29 am »
Yep, IIRC, the original horn connectors plug right into the relay, no modification to them. 
'08 C14
There is no such thing as too much ammo, unless you are on fire or trying to swim.

Offline Bigfoot_16

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1042
  • I prefer bikes with more horsepower than noise.
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #31 on: January 14, 2016, 03:28:41 am »
There are multiple ways to connect the wires to the relay. The two control wire connections (OEM horn wires) go to the "control" terminals (low amperage) on the relay. The power wire and ground wire go to the "load" terminals (higher amperage) of the relay. (Hence the purpose of the relay.) Look at the second post in the linked thread (link follows this sentence) for a diagram of one way to connect the wires to the relay: http://forum.cog-online.org/index.php?topic=57994.0. IIRC, I ran a fused, power wire directly from the battery for the "load" circuit. I then ran another wire from the other load terminal to a frame ground on the bike. The diagram is more helpful than my explanation here. Sorry, it's been a while since I did it and I didn't document it when I installed it. The Fiamm kit didn't come with this wire/fuse combo. I bought it off of Amazon, too.
Jim

2015 Concours 14

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul. Steve's ECU flash stirs the soul!

Offline Flat-spot

  • Sport Tourer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2518
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 11111
  • Membership Level: Active
'08 C14
There is no such thing as too much ammo, unless you are on fire or trying to swim.

Offline Flat-spot

  • Sport Tourer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2518
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 11111
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #33 on: January 14, 2016, 05:35:24 am »
This is how I did mine. 

« Last Edit: January 14, 2016, 05:42:35 am by Flat-spot »
'08 C14
There is no such thing as too much ammo, unless you are on fire or trying to swim.

Offline Bigfoot_16

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1042
  • I prefer bikes with more horsepower than noise.
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #34 on: January 14, 2016, 12:53:50 pm »
This is how I did mine. 




Vespa horn... Bwaaaaa haaaa haaa! Very accurate description.
Jim

2015 Concours 14

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul. Steve's ECU flash stirs the soul!

Offline Big-Al

  • Scooter
  • ***
  • Posts: 261
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #35 on: January 14, 2016, 01:17:54 pm »
I've gotten cut off three times in the last six months by idiot distracted drivers. Has anyone put a REAL accessory horn on their C14? The C10's at least have TWO horns. I'm looking for something like the horns off a premium car that belt out at least 160 DB's. Anyone out there got a solution compatible with the Kawasaki electrical system?

Another option...

I split the compressor/horn section of a Wolo Bad boy. I placed the compressor next to the Rostra actuator (see picture) under right top plastic and mounted the horn section in the original factory horn location.
2012 Kawasaki Concours (Arabian Red) (1400cc)
2008 BMW K1200GT (1200cc)
2004 BMW K1200GT (1200cc)
1998 BMW K1200RS (1200cc)
1991 BMW K1 (1000cc)
1986 BMW K100 LT (1000cc)
1980 BMW R100 RT (1000cc)
1975 BMW R90/6 (900cc)
1972 BSA Lightning (750cc)
1970 Norton Commando (750cc)
1969 Triumph Bonneville (650cc)
1968 Harley Davidson Sprint (250cc)
1967 Honda Super Hawk (305cc)
1967 Honda Cub (65cc)

Offline RodneyW

  • Mini Bike
  • **
  • Posts: 160
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #36 on: January 18, 2016, 03:14:11 am »
I just installed the PIAA Sport Horns (pair) after reading this board, and then doing some research, and I'm quite pleased.  I had used the screamin banshee on my previous bike, and it was fine, but there is a delay (albeit slight) with the air horn, and the install was much more difficult.  The PIAA's are really an easy one, they are small and can go right where the factory horn resides.  I'll admit that they PIAA's are not quite as loud as the air horns, but they are loud enough to make me feel much safer.  Someone really should lose their job for allowing the factory horn to make the cut!

Offline MikeB_CA

  • Road Bike
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #37 on: January 18, 2016, 03:17:41 am »
Someone really should lose their job for allowing the factory horn to make the cut!

Maybe their "little ears" couldn't handle anything louder ::)? just sayin'  :great:!

Offline Aussie

  • The Engineer
  • Street Cruiser
  • ****
  • Posts: 547
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 10853
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #38 on: January 18, 2016, 03:41:36 am »
Big Al,

A bit of a highjack ... But ...

Welcome back ... I thought we had lost you!  :beerchug:
2012 Kawasaki Concours 14 - Candy Arabian Red
Oviedo (near Orlando) FL

Wherever you go, there you are!

Offline Flat-spot

  • Sport Tourer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2518
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 11111
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #39 on: January 18, 2016, 05:37:15 am »
Just a FYI...the Screaming Banshee is 2-stage horn and has the delay :( designed into it.  Stebel has no delay.  Pretty sure the Wolo Bad Boy doesn't either.

'08 C14
There is no such thing as too much ammo, unless you are on fire or trying to swim.

Offline Big-Al

  • Scooter
  • ***
  • Posts: 261
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #40 on: January 18, 2016, 10:52:01 am »
Big Al,

A bit of a highjack ... But ...

Welcome back ... I thought we had lost you!  :beerchug:

Thanks... been a bit diverted as of late, but looking forward to more riding in the near future.
2012 Kawasaki Concours (Arabian Red) (1400cc)
2008 BMW K1200GT (1200cc)
2004 BMW K1200GT (1200cc)
1998 BMW K1200RS (1200cc)
1991 BMW K1 (1000cc)
1986 BMW K100 LT (1000cc)
1980 BMW R100 RT (1000cc)
1975 BMW R90/6 (900cc)
1972 BSA Lightning (750cc)
1970 Norton Commando (750cc)
1969 Triumph Bonneville (650cc)
1968 Harley Davidson Sprint (250cc)
1967 Honda Super Hawk (305cc)
1967 Honda Cub (65cc)

Offline Silverfox1951

  • Big Wheels
  • Posts: 4
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: Forum subscr
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #41 on: February 08, 2016, 05:34:42 pm »
 :)  Okay, I did get two Wolo disc horns installed on my bike. I used the stock horn bracket. The Wolo horns came with a bracket that I used to suspend them off the stock bracket. They swivel on the same arch as the stocker, but there are now two of then and my wife says it sounds like a school bus. They can't be seen unless you really look for them, just like the original. The biggest plus was that I was able to create a horn cassette and use the stock mounting bolts as the grounds for the new horns. Just one wire from the battery. The stock horn leads plugged into the relay and It was all done.
Silverfox1951
C14 is number 36 and counting.

Offline MAN OF BLUES

  • I Need a Life
  • ******
  • Posts: 9931
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 5977
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #42 on: February 08, 2016, 06:08:17 pm »
Just a FYI...the Screaming Banshee is 2-stage horn and has the delay :( designed into it.  Stebel has no delay.  Pretty sure the Wolo Bad Boy doesn't either.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w837N4TCUx8#t=41


the Wolo I bought at Harbor Freight came with a relay... and it is needed... I just have to get it installed... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

30 YEARS OF KAW.....Rich R. (the other one..)  COG 5977  JUSTAMEMBAHNOW
and if you are gonna call me names... it's MR. Analdweeb if you please...

Offline Flat-spot

  • Sport Tourer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2518
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 11111
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #43 on: February 08, 2016, 06:21:48 pm »
Yes on the Relay.....No on the Delay.  Not a typo above.   :rotflmao:  Watch the Screaming Banshee video.  It goes...meep-BLAAAP.  :D :great:
'08 C14
There is no such thing as too much ammo, unless you are on fire or trying to swim.

Offline Walker18

  • Street Cruiser
  • ****
  • Posts: 638
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 8443
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #44 on: February 08, 2016, 07:05:30 pm »
Just another shout-out for the Banshee, has saved my hide several times. Not only do you keep your stock horns,
the delay setting allows the stock horns to sound first, then either a 1/4 sec, or 1/2 sec settings are available, if memory serves,,
then the air horn goes off, a headlight modulator is included with the horn, so the high/low beams flash along with
the air horn. Pretty effective. But if you just want a 'beep' or 2, only the stock horns will sound.

AMA# 1088783
2012 C-14  'Rudy'

Offline Landon

  • Scooter
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #45 on: February 08, 2016, 07:06:11 pm »
I threw the relay that came with the horn in the trash and went and bought a sealed one from the local auto parts store.
Landon
2012 C14 Arabian Red

Offline Flat-spot

  • Sport Tourer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2518
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 11111
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Upgrade for C14 Horn
« Reply #46 on: February 08, 2016, 07:15:32 pm »
Yep, my first non-sealed relay fried too.  Replaced with a waterproof unit.


'08 C14
There is no such thing as too much ammo, unless you are on fire or trying to swim.