Author Topic: Valve Adjustment C14  (Read 3044 times)

Offline Shredran

• Training Wheels
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Valve Adjustment C14
« Reply #50 on: July 27, 2018, 06:53:59 pm »
Ha!

Offline Sailor_chic

• Crotch Rocket
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 11610
  • Membership Level: Active
« Reply #51 on: July 27, 2018, 07:13:58 pm »
Welp, today's the day gentlemen (and ladies): I'm officially going to begin my valve clearance inspect, coolant change, steering stem bearings re-grease, air filter swap to k&n, and radiator cleaning job! I've ever done these operations on this bike, and I've NEVER done valves before. I'll have a mechanic with me and will be using a pro shop's space to do all this work myself. Very excited to learn a ton, but also know this is going to take a long time. If anyone has last minute suggestions, let me know! I plan to label all nuts, parts, etc, in baggies and set down plastics in easy-to-reassemble type puzzle pieces which should help.

I have canyon cages, but the fairings (confirmed) were cut by the previous owner so I'm good to go there.

Thanks!

1) You should just plan on getting the Canyon cages off right away.

2) Take lots of pictures

3 )Take even more pictures.

4) be patient
« Last Edit: July 27, 2018, 07:17:03 pm by Sailor_chic »
Nicole     Port St Lucie, FL.
2013 C14 Black  
2006 Vmax
IBA # 60267

Offline Shredran

• Training Wheels
« Reply #52 on: July 28, 2018, 01:14:57 pm »
Just to update everybody, I got to the point where I removed the lrft-side heat insulation and left subframe but had to call it quits because the shop space I was using was closing at 10 PM. Heading back today and will do everything else. Took me about 3 1/2 hours to get to that point because I have never done anything to this bike yet & the service manual is a huge pain in the a**. Took hopefully enough photos and labeled baggies

Offline Sailor_chic

• Crotch Rocket