Author Topic: Bike-Curious and Considering C14  (Read 615 times)

Offline Wheels Up

• Big Wheels
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Bike-Curious and Considering C14
« on: July 30, 2019, 01:53:53 pm »
Hi all,

I'm new around here and hope to learn a bit from the folks with real experience on the C14.

I've been riding motorcycles for around 10 years. I started with an '81 Goldwing, which I replaced with a 2011 Suzuki V-Strom 650 that I bought new. The Goldwing I had was a basket case and I sold it because I wanted to ride more than I wanted to repair, although it was the most comfortable couch on wheels I've ever had the pleasure of sitting on. Unfortunately, it didn't get many miles on it before it left for greener pastures in someone else's barn.

The V-Strom was a great bike for that time of my life. Not terribly expensive, very efficient, easy to ride, and farkles abounded. Although it had some limitations, I was able to fit it out to fill my needs. At this point in my life, the limitations of the V-Strom started to outweigh the reasons for keeping it, and I've recently let it go to an excited new owner.

I expect to purchase a new motorcycle in the winter or early spring, and a new Concours 14 is high on my list (among others). I've lusted after them for ages, but I'll admit that I'm a little concerned that some of the shortcomings of the V-Strom may be present in the C14 too. I'm hoping that some of you with similar situations may be able to either put my mind at ease or confirm that the C14 isn't for me.

My riding type is that I rarely commute to work. I'm more of a weekend destination rider, frequently with small groups of friends. I can be on the beach in just under two hours from my home, and that's the normal riding that I get into. 2-4 hours riding in a day, but rarely longer than that. I'd like to be able to ride farther, but the comfort of the V-Strom limited how far I could go.