Author Topic: 2002 Concours 10  (Read 603 times)

Offline jsiphoneguy

• Tricycle
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
2002 Concours 10
« on: August 11, 2017, 01:21:57 pm »
My son is looking at a 2002 Concours ZG1000 Speedipus Rex Edition 2 (aka George) with
86360 miles. I'm new to my 2011 Connie (but absolutely love it) and I'm wondering if I need to be concerned about the mileage on this one. It seems to have been maintained exceptionally well and the price is $2500. Seems like a great deal. What is the life span of these bikes and would you be concerned about heading off on a 1500 mile excitation (in general terms)?

Offline Sport Rider

• Two wheel addict!
  • I Need a Life
  • 100,000 or Bust!
    • BikePics Site
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 8603
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Re: 2002 Concours 10
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2017, 01:42:45 pm »
I'm not familiar with that particular bike.  mileage is affected by how they are maintained.  however, these bikes are fully capable of far more mileage than just 86k.  mine is at 75k and still running strong.  I would have no fear of a cross country trip.  just do all the usual checks and maintenance.  I'd be interested to know what carb work has been done, what has been done to the water pump....like the seal replaced, and coolant log o-rings replaced.  coolant hoses and brake clutch lines are wear parts at that age too.  grease fittings are often overlooked by owners, so be sure it's routinely greased.  Valve check done lately?  remove the fuel line from the petcock to the carbs to be sure the petcock vacuum seal is still good.
North Carolina AAD
COG, VROC, VBA, IBA, USCA and other TLAs
05 C10, 94 C10, 06 Nomad, 15 CB
https://www.bikepics.com/members/ncdave/

Offline Larry_Buck_FL

• Industry Member
  • Road Bike
    • Buck Sport Touring
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 3451
  • Membership Level: Event Host
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2017, 02:28:48 pm »