Author Topic: Headlight wiring  (Read 305 times)

Offline Tjnoma99

• Training Wheels
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Headlight wiring
« on: August 30, 2017, 01:41:18 am »
So the previous owner wired in a hid headlight. I'm nut a fan. So I pulled the fairing and the headlight writing has been chopped up. My question is which wire is which? I have an electrical diagram but come to find out, I'm not too good at reading them ( I'm a plumber by trade)! And I noticed that there is no headlight connector. The bike takes an h4 correct?  Thank in advance!
The secret to life: 👆👆👇👇👈👉b a b a start!

Offline Jorge

• Officer
  • Sport Tourer
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 9297
  • Membership Level: Event Host
Re: Headlight wiring
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2017, 01:52:25 am »
Yikes!!
Hey, plumbing and wiring are the same, just don't mix them.
Yes, they take the H4 bulb.
I think you can get a replacement connector at any auto parts store. The plug is the same as the old hi/lo sealed beam light that millions of cars and trucks used, and many still use the same plug.
I'm sorry I can't remember which connector is which wire; possibly the replacement connector will have a guide.
From looking at the wiring diagram, the red/black wire is the high beam, the red/yellow is low, and the yellow/black is ground.
I recommend that you solder the connection, even if you use a barrel crimp connector, use a bare one, and put heat shrink tubing over the connection. There's quite a bit of current flowing through these wires, and you don't want to overheat them.
The solder in the joint prevents corrosion between the wires, and the heat shrink tubing will protecxt the connection, and isolate it preventing a short circuit.

Offline Tjnoma99

• Training Wheels
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2017, 01:55:49 am »
I don't know about being the same! Never been shocked by water ;)