Author Topic: Idle issue  (Read 681 times)

Offline Tjnoma99

• Bicycle
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: 12686
  • Membership Level: Active
Idle issue
« on: August 16, 2017, 09:29:42 pm »
So I'm very new to this bike ( a whole 4 days). Today I went out to get new tires. I have the choke on ( at least I think) to warm up. When I felt it should be warmed up, I turned off the choke. The bike died. Turned the choke back on, the bike fired right up. Any help us greatly appreciated.
The secret to life: 👆👆👇👇👈👉b a b a start!

2015 Yamaha Raider xv1900, 2005 Yamaha Roadstar Warrior xv1700, 2003 Kawasaki Concours

Offline Pbfoot

• Crotch Rocket
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 10807
Re: Idle issue
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2017, 09:41:58 pm »
What is the idle set at when warmed up?? Should be 1100. Do the free power mod. Use the search function on the board.
If you don't have time to do it right, when do you have time to do it over.                                                                17" wheels, Nissin 4 piston calipers.1kg Sonic Springs.Cartridge Fork Emulators. KB Brace. Galfer brake lines  Free power mod.

Offline Tjnoma99

• Bicycle
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2017, 09:45:40 pm »
I was wondering about that! I noticed that the choke on idle is roughly 1000 rpms. What should the rpms be if the choke is on?

2015 Yamaha Raider xv1900, 2005 Yamaha Roadstar Warrior xv1700, 2003 Kawasaki Concours

Offline MAN OF BLUES

• I Need a Life
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 5977
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2017, 09:54:48 pm »
I was wondering about that! I noticed that the choke on idle is roughly 1000 rpms. What should the rpms be if the choke is on?

Well above that for sure, but doesn't matter, you don't ride with in on, and its an enrichener, not a choke, it adds fuel, doesn't shut off air..
Prolly will be about 1800-2400 when its engaged, but should only be engaged for about 20-30 seconds to make an engine start, and run, in summer...