Author Topic: Looking at buying an '02. Need some advice  (Read 520 times)

Offline DC Concours

• Sport Tourer
  • 2001 Concours, ~19K miles
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Looking at buying an '02. Need some advice
« Reply #25 on: August 08, 2019, 01:48:37 am »

Offline david

• Tricycle
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: Forum
« Reply #26 on: August 10, 2019, 12:52:30 am »
I’m in LA. Lincoln Alabama myself,    Don’t be scared of a higher mileage bike,  most of the time someone stayed on top of the maintenance,   My 1994. Has 73000.  I’d take her anywhere. 

Offline Bobdog76

• Big Wheels
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
« Reply #27 on: August 12, 2019, 02:47:20 pm »
1st. time user. Hope it's ok if I join ongoing conversation? All of the info in this conversation is applicable to me, with one exception. My O2 ran great! I'm a disabled vet, traumatic brain injuries affected my balance and I just couldn't handle the bike at that point. I want to get back to riding ASAP, pretty sure I have rewired my brain sufficiently. My bike has been sitting for 2 years, but as I said it was running great when I last rode it. Would I be safe draining old gas, filling up with a gallon fresh fuel and trying to crank it over? Hydrolock scares me. If my carbs are gunked up and I try to start am I risking hydrolock? Guy I bought the bike from was a good mechanic with attention to detail, I could tell that just visiting his shop. Tires are 4 years old with plenty of tread left, should I replace them anyway? I intend to change oil, filters, Lube drain and refill radiator. I apologize if this sounds a bit confused, I am! :-)  fingers are still pretty stupid and my voice recognition software sucks. Thanks for your patience.

Offline DC Concours

• Sport Tourer
  • 2001 Concours, ~19K miles
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: forum
« Reply #28 on: August 12, 2019, 03:03:41 pm »
Welcome and you should start a new thread.