Author Topic: Maintenance goals  (Read 404 times)

Offline Tour1

• Street Cruiser
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 9226
  • Membership Level: Active
Maintenance goals
« on: May 01, 2018, 12:42:06 pm »
My '87 is likely a contestant for a hard luck prize and once valued at $500 by the loud crowd in the for sale section of this forum.  SWMBO wants me to give up riding and I'm considering alternatives between a fire sale and attempted restoration.  My previous Pearl Gentry Gray paint job cost $900, the guy kept the bike 2 months, and he forgot to connect a few things when I finally rescued it from his shop.  I have some obvious dings including the isthmus on the outside of the turn signals, most of the scoop support area, and a few big scratches.  My engine is at least half worn out at 82,488 miles judging by the cam chain tensioner and the odo reading.
  I have a red front fairing and mint condition sides in gold, but I've no experience at painting stuff to make it shiny.  It's more my style to "customize" by modification, for example, I could keep my old sides but add cut-outs so they could be removed without taking off the tip over bars.   Another place I'd try to fix is the rubber accordions at the mirrors, which need replacement for a restoration but insted I'd try to 3D print an LED light mini-fairing that would also eliminate the isthmus problems.
  So plan A full restoration is expensive (some money already spent) and time consuming with high standards and new skills or expenses required.
  Plan B is to sell off parts that aren't already gray/silverdammit, then ride more and take the hit on eventual sale in a highly competitive market.  There could be a major mechanical problem anytime anyway, and I need room in my garage because I'm paying $150 a month rent on a storage unit that's about the size of my bike & spares.