Author Topic: new owner fuel problems  (Read 5031 times)

Offline Nable

• Big Wheels
  • AREA: Northwest Area
  • COG#: 11973
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
new owner fuel problems
« on: May 22, 2015, 02:49:21 pm »
Hello COG,
I'm the new owner of a 98 concours with about 18000 miles. The story seems common enough: I picked it up for a song, it's (visually) in immaculate condition, garage kept, but hadn't been driven in 2 years. So, expecting the mandatory fuel system problems.

I'm a total novice at mechanics but willing to dive in. When I got the motorcycle home it was running really rough, barely idling and and dying when I pulled the throttle. So i pulled the carbs and found clogged jets - thats about all i really cleaned, I was flying blind mostly because my clymer hadn't come yet and I couldn't find the much vaunted article "it ain't a diet thang" anywhere on the website. I did spray and clean all of the surfaces, the needle, etc, but i didn't take much else apart. Anyway, I put it back together and fired up and the previous problems were better, it idled and revved when I turned the throttle, but still ran really rough. So I did the first thing I should have done, which was drain the fuel and get fresh, drain the bowls, put in a little bit of seafoam, and tried again. Huzzah! Running great at first, but wait theres more.

I took it for a quick test drive, and found that when I shifted, sometimes the instead of dropping back down the engine would rev up to 4 or 5 k and just stay there. sometimes it drops down on its own after minute , sometimes it doesn't and I have to shut down the bike. I had to take it home and stop working on it for the night. The next day I took off the fairings and started it, and it was running a little rougher, and still revinng really bad, even when I'm not driving it.