Author Topic: New Owner of a 1998 with a few questions  (Read 936 times)

Offline Justin

• Big Wheels
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
New Owner of a 1998 with a few questions
« on: July 25, 2017, 11:02:28 pm »
Hey everyone! I recently purchased a 98 ZG1000 and I'm having an issue or two. I'm not very experienced with working on bikes or bike issues so bear with me please.
First off, it takes a few cranks to start up (with choke) especially if it's been a few days between.
Secondly, it idles rough, moving between 1100-1500. (I've tried to adjust the screw to no avail)
When riding, it tends to stall out, even when riding at 30 mph.
I've pulled into my garage, stopped and it will backfire like a cannon and the fuel smells rich as heck.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Offline connie_rider

• OtP {assistant} Slave Labor
  • I Need a Life
  • Help us make "OtP" possible! "AGAIN"
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 4154
  • Membership Level: Asst. Area Director
Re: New Owner of a 1998 with a few questions
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2017, 12:25:31 am »
It sounds like the carbs are overfilling.
Most probable is carbs needs to be gone thru.
Be very carful cranking it. In fact, don't until you hear more from the COGdom.
If the fuel level is as high as it sounds, you could fill a cylinder with gas and hydrolock the engine.
Hydrolock is Bad!!

Here's a discussion/video;  http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=276.0

Steve Sefsick does most of the carbs in the club.
Someone will be along shortly to give you the correct address to contact him.
As your inexperienced, I highly recommend you send them to him.
He has mine now...

Ride safe, Ted

« Last Edit: July 26, 2017, 03:02:44 am by connie_rider »
14 Connie (Traveler II)
03 Connie (Buddy)

To contribute to "OtP", (Chg. Card or paypal)  Click Here
(For Paypal) send to treasurer@cog-online.org

Offline VTconnie

• Crotch Rocket
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 11081