Author Topic: Rear Brake dragging... Help!  (Read 1694 times)

Offline 3D biker

• Big Wheels
  • Keep the rubber side down
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: forum
  • Membership Level: Expired - Expired Term
Rear Brake dragging... Help!
« on: May 08, 2011, 09:27:22 pm »
Hi All,
I'm new to the forum and to my 04 Connie 10. I've got lots of helpful tips from you guys!
I've been riding it for about 2 months with no problems.

Until now... I put her on the center stand and gave the back wheel a spin.
My rear break is dragging! I took off the caliper, and the pads, used break cleaned on the piston.

But its still dragging. I can force the piston back but when I take it for a test ride, I have to pump the break pedal until I get some friction and it drags again. I dont think there is air in the system, as I have not opened the system, and it was riding fine before.

I could bleed the break fluid, or at least crack a seal and try getting rid of any air in the system? or maybe its water contamination?

What can I do to fix this?

any help is appreciated!

thanks in advance.

Offline Pat and Sher in MA

• Street Cruiser
  • COG#: 7670
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Rear Brake dragging... Help!
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2011, 09:42:27 pm »
Hi 3D,

How many miles on the bike? How worn are the pads? How dark is the rear brake fluid?

If the pads are worn down and the fluid hasn't been changed then the seals could be a
little hard and won't retract the piston to prevent dragging. If the fluid is dark then the first
thing would be changing out the fluid and see if that helps, also change out the pads if they
are worn more than half way and that could solve the problem. If that doesn't fix it then you'll
probably need the caliper rebuilt with new seals.

Also check the pins that the caliper slides on, The caliper should slide easily along the pins.
If not then clean the pins and lube with brake lube.