Author Topic: soupy's lowerin kit & kickstand length  (Read 375 times)

Offline steve

• Big Wheels
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
soupy's lowerin kit & kickstand length
« on: November 12, 2017, 02:13:02 pm »
I'm lowering my 06 c10 4 inches with the soupy's kit can anyone tell me how much to shorten my side and center stands after installation,  I'm an avid welder an feel this is well within my ability if I know the proper lengths?   Thanx in advance ...

Offline JimBob

• Sport Tourer
  • Woman...WHOAAAA MAN!
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: forum
Re: soupy's lowerin kit & kickstand length
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2017, 05:18:30 pm »
Is 4” even possible/reasonable? Can you get that much lowering out of the forks too so it remains level?

I think I dropped my 2” initially, and now reverted to 1” because it caused clearance issues with speedbumps and such. At 2”, the forks could just barelt even the bike out when I slid them through the clamps.

For 2”, I chopped about 1” out of the kickstand and it worked well. Didn’t bother with the center stand, just ride up on a 2x4 to make it easier. But I’d hazard a guess that you would remove as much from the center stand as you lowered the bike (so 2” lower, remove 2” from centerstand). But I could be wrong.

Offline steve

• Big Wheels
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2017, 05:45:31 pm »
Soupy's sells 4 inch lowering kits, I emailed them and ask the same thing, they assured me you can safely lower a Connie 4" without problems, I plan on lowering the front forks an inch thats what I'm reading on all the forums....when the kit comes I'm going to lower it an inch at the time until I can put both feet flat when I'm stopped,  at 5'8" not sure how much that'll be, but hoping a couple of inches will do it.

Offline connieklr

• Street Cruiser
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 1608
  • Membership Level: Active
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2017, 07:43:31 pm »