Author Topic: Well Gaskets?  (Read 1024 times)

Offline MrBob

• Bicycle
  • Careening Forward
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: 10458
  • Membership Level: Active
Well Gaskets?
« on: September 08, 2012, 04:36:04 pm »
 The oil in the spark plug wells tells me it's time to change the well gaskets. I'm new to the Connie and just putting wrench to metal on this bike.
 It looks like removing the coils would be necessary to good access. Anything else I should be aware of? I did this task on my Bandit and recall how easy it was to pinch gaskets on reassembly.
95 Connie
99 Jeep Cherokee

Online ron203

• Officer
  • Iron Butt
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 9847
  • Membership Level: Area Director
Re: Well Gaskets?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2012, 04:41:42 pm »
Well (pun intended), it's not hard to do, just a challenge of sorts to get to because of other things that have to happen first. It's time to take off the valve cover and a good time to check the valves, 'cause the well gaskets are underneath the cover, not on top of it.  While it's off, you replace the gaskets. Search elsewhere to find out how to do the valves. Take off the cover and turn it over. There are the well gaskets. Of course...I might be wrong, but I don't think so. If I am, I'm sure I'll be ridiculed....
2014 C-14

Offline Mad River Marc

• Sport Tourer
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 8442
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2012, 06:04:17 pm »
Not difficult to do, just tedious.

1) Remove plastic
2) Remove gas tank
3) Remove spark plugs
4) Loosen coil assemblys (2 nuts, 8mm IIRC) and move them out of the way
5) Remove air suction system
6) Unbolt valve cover and jockey it out of the bike (Comes out the left side and helps if you undo the 1  fairing stay bolt on that side)
7) Adjust valves (takes 10 min tops with that bike)
8) The well gaskets will either be stuck to the valve cover or on the head itself,  they are held in place with a dowel pin, just pull them off and install new