Author Topic: Installing audiovox cruise control  (Read 855 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Moose

  • Tricycle
  • Posts: 15
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Installing audiovox cruise control
« on: March 21, 2012, 04:48:18 AM »
Hey, new to this board. I have an FJR1300 with over 50k miles and an audiovox cruise control that I installed myself. It has been lawless. I was lucky in that someone had done the ground work for me and done a brilliant job documenting the installation on the FJR. Well, I just picked up a 2009 C14 and want to add a CC to it. As I look through the forum and compare to internet prices the McCruise seems pricey ($1100) and I am not a fan of throttle "locks".

You seem knowledgeable about this...how hard is it to self install an audiovox on a C14? About how much out of pocket? Who has the good step by step plans? I appreciate any feed back or advice.

Already ordered my Cee Bailey windscreen...what are other popular mods? Thanks for your time.
ridingorflying@yahoo.com

Moose Massey

Offline WillyP

  • Administrator
  • Iron Butt
  • ****
  • Posts: 4712
    • Suncook Carpentry
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 8799
  • Membership Level: Web Master
Re: Installing audiovox cruise control
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2012, 05:11:53 AM »
Moose, I have split off this post and moved it here as the C-14 shares little if any with the C-10. Other than a great club, the Concours Owners Group (COG) and the people in it!

Oh, and welcome to the forum!  8)
Smart people look like crazy people to stupid people.
pics

Offline Fred_Harmon_TX

  • COG Technical Editor
  • Sport Tourer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2764
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 2170
  • Membership Level: Tech Editor
Re: Installing audiovox cruise control
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2012, 05:47:29 AM »
I'd highly suggest you look at the Rostra cruise control instead of the Audiovox. It doesn't require vacuum to operate, is easier to install, and is more reliable and holds speed better, and is not affected by altitude when riding in the mountains. I believe Murphs Kits sells it. Its $50 more than the old Audiovox.

http://www.murphskits.com/catalog/index.php?manufacturers_id=64

Murph also still sells the Audiovox, and it can be used on the C14 as well. I have installed and used both, and for my money, I think the Rostra is worth the extra $$. The Rostra can also be hooked up to the clutch switch so that it automatically disengages when you pull in the clutch without the need for a tach signal or a connection to the coils.

http://www.murphskits.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=422
« Last Edit: March 21, 2012, 06:36:07 AM by Fred_Harmon_TX »
Fred H.
Concours 1400 Maintenance Videos 
Christmas Sale in Progress
http://www.angelridevideos.com

I now also do C14 service and repairs. Contact me for info.

Offline Fred_Harmon_TX

  • COG Technical Editor
  • Sport Tourer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2764
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 2170
  • Membership Level: Tech Editor
Re: Installing audiovox cruise control
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2012, 06:08:09 AM »
By the way, here are some links to installation instructions.

Rostra
http://www.murphskits.com/catalog/docs/Rostra%20install.htm

Brian did a real good job with his instructions and has updated them a couple times. I believe he also may have incorporated some of my notes into his installation instructions. I did some experimenting with different switch settings until I found the ones that provided the best response. I also found that moving the connection point further out on the throttle pulley arm helped smooth it out even more, and I provided some info on how to tap into the clutch lockout switch to act as an automatic cutout circuit. Unfortunately, I think the original threads we put up on the old forum are forever lost.


And below is another link to an install on a BMW.

http://www.murphskits.com/catalog/docs/Rostra_Cruise_Fitment_Guide_BMW_K1200S_Final.pdf

Audiovox

http://www.murphskits.com/catalog/docs/c14cc-install.htm

http://www.murphskits.com/catalog/docs/fhc14cc-install.htm

http://www.pbase.com/fredharmon/audiovoxcruise

http://www.murphskits.com/catalog/docs/audiovox/index.htm
« Last Edit: March 21, 2012, 06:40:00 AM by Fred_Harmon_TX »
Fred H.
Concours 1400 Maintenance Videos 
Christmas Sale in Progress
http://www.angelridevideos.com

I now also do C14 service and repairs. Contact me for info.

Offline Fred_Harmon_TX

  • COG Technical Editor
  • Sport Tourer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2764
  • AREA: South Central Area
  • COG#: 2170
  • Membership Level: Tech Editor
Re: Installing audiovox cruise control
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2012, 06:17:00 AM »
And one final note I'd like to add, the rear frame section of the Concours 14 does not always get a proper ground signal (I learned this the hard way).  It just depends on the threads on the bolts where the two sections of the frame are bolted together. I found on my own bike that ground under the seat would come and go. You'll need to add a brake light relay to the C14 (since the tail lights are LED), and you will need a good path to ground for both the relay and brake light circuit on the cruise control. Be sure that you connect the ground for your relay to a solid ground point.  I'd also highly recommend running a lead from either the battery negative terminal or the front section of the frame somewhere back to the rear section to insure that the rear portion of the bike is properly grounded. This will also allow you to use the rear frame section under the seat as a ground point.

If your cruise control fails to work, or works intermittently after installation, the first thing I'd suggest that you check is the ground that is supplied to brake light circuit. If the cruise control does not sense a proper ground with 0 ohms, it will not engage. Mine used to disengage on every bump because I had the ground connected to the bar under the seat, and the front and rear frame members weren't making good enough metal to metal contact due to the paint on them. Adding a new ground wire from the rear of the frame back to the negative terminal of the battery fixed it.



« Last Edit: March 21, 2012, 06:22:15 AM by Fred_Harmon_TX »
Fred H.
Concours 1400 Maintenance Videos 
Christmas Sale in Progress
http://www.angelridevideos.com

I now also do C14 service and repairs. Contact me for info.

Offline wayne_jenkins_CT

  • Street Cruiser
  • ****
  • Posts: 509
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 8966
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Installing audiovox cruise control
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2012, 08:03:20 AM »
I installed a Rosta about 2 years ago and this group was a great help, an easy install,I ran a wire from the battery for all grounds and soldered all connections. After lots of trouble shooting I found I had a bad unit Rosta shipped another and It has worked since. Rosta can be a great help with any problems. Get BDF's install and all will be good!

Offline Moose

  • Tricycle
  • Posts: 15
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: Installing audiovox cruise control
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2012, 04:32:23 AM »
Thanks all. Looks like I need to sit down at the computer early some Sunday morning with a fresh clear mind, time to read and print and a pot of coffee! I appreciate the feed back, I am sure I will revisit this in a month or so when I have time!!

Ride safe.

moose Massey

Offline Mad River Marc

  • Moderator
  • Sport Tourer
  • ***
  • Posts: 2256
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 8442
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Installing audiovox cruise control
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2012, 02:20:50 PM »
Actually, while the McCruise is very pricy, in my opinion it is worth the money.

I have had one on both my FJR and now on my C-14 and it is a VERY well engineered product.

Aside from superb install instructions everything is plug and play, no cutting or splicing required.  But that aside, the biggest reason I decided to go with the spendy model was safety.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm not hating on either unit,  the Audiovox and Rostra are both good units, and  there are tons of these things in use today without a problem.  Heck I helped a guy install one on a 2009 C-14 2 weeks ago.  But the fact remains that these units were not designed for Motorcycles,  they are CAR units and were adapted for Motorcycle use.  They both have some form of chain or cable that hooks to the throttle arm and "pulls" the throttle when engaged,  and while it is very rare, it IS possible for that chain to get stuck and hold the throttle open creating a potentially dangerous situation.

The McCruise removes this possibility, it's design calls for removing the throttles opening cable and replacing it with their short cable, then the original cable, their new cable and the servo cable all meet in an interface box that has 2 spools in it which rotate against each other.  I am not explaining it very well I know, but the end result is the cables cannot stick and bind up the throttle.

Again I am not trying to dissuade you from using the AV or Rostra, but this is just something to keep in mind....
You only need two tools in life – WD-40 and duct tape. If it doesn’t move and should, use the WD-40. If it shouldn’t move and does, use the duct tape.

Offline ChipDoc

  • Section Moderator
  • Sport Tourer
  • **
  • Posts: 2429
  • Work to ride - Ride to work!
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 9934
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: Installing audiovox cruise control
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2012, 02:55:25 PM »
You actually explained it really well - thanks!  I had always wondered why they were SO much more expensive and that answered it really well.