Author Topic: New member in San Diego  (Read 722 times)

Offline jayzx750

• Big Wheels
  • AREA: Southwest Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
New member in San Diego
« on: March 09, 2019, 11:36:01 am »
Hello COG, Jay Lombardo here in San Diego.
I just picked up my '10 C14 last Saturday and it seems like a fine bike so far. 

I've been riding for over 50 years (wow, that makes me sound old - oh... I guess I am!! haha) and currently ride a ZX10r, SV650, YFZ450 as well as a Banshee. Just sold my YZ250 - truly a sad day.... :(

I intend to do some longer range riding while still keeping the fun in it, it seems the C is the best choice to do that with.  It isn't that I intended for Kawasaki to be my favorite bike manufacturer (Yamaha is my #2)... it just worked out that way.  The Big K just seems to make the bikes I like!!

So I'm prepping to do the fun stuff - maintenance.
I'm going to start fresh on a complete maintenance schedule next week... valve adjustment, plugs, air & oil filter change, engine and final drive lubricant change, brake fluid swap. Fork oil replacement and a stock '15 shock swap are on the list as well.

It looks like there's a weeping valve cover gasket (or something going on up there) so I need to determine if it's a common issue or the result of some outdated part(s) I should know about and change.

Tire pressure batteries are low so I think I'll use battery replacement as an excuse to spoon on a set of Dunlop Roadsmart III's. I've really liked the performance/longevity of RS II's on my SV commuter, hoping the "improved" III's will be even better!

If anyone has tips, shortcuts, recommendations etc, feel free to enlighten me.
Anyhow, looking forward to chatting it up with you soon.

Maybe see you on the road!! Jay from SanD

Offline Rusty

• Officer
  • Street Cruiser
  • Live to Ride, Ride to Live-2008 C14
  • COG#: 9585
  • Membership Level: Area Director
Re: New member in San Diego