Author Topic: 940 miles to ride...one day or two?  (Read 4448 times)

Offline ddialogue

• Boise, Idaho
  • Training Wheels
  • I have C14 perma grin!
  • AREA: Northwest Area
  • COG#: forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
940 miles to ride...one day or two?
« on: June 01, 2013, 04:09:20 am »
I'm meeting some buddies in South Dakota for a few days of riding and I'm considering riding the 940 miles (Boise, ID to Hill City, SD) in one stretch.  I've ridden many days in the 400-500 mile range with the longest being just a hair over 550 miles.  I'm experienced with multi-day rides and I have all the gear, etc. to make the trip but I have no experience riding that far in one stretch without an overnight in between.  I will be riding solo until I arrive in South Dakota and I am leaving the option open to stop part way if I'm too fatigued.

Any suggestions for a long distance noob?   :)
Dave

2010 ABS Neptune Blue
2003 FZ1 Silver
2008 KTM 530EXC

Offline worncog

• Crotch Rocket
  • aka 'handyman'
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 9584
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: 940 miles to ride...one day or two?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2013, 02:21:01 pm »
I guess everyone is still drinking coffee, so I'll chime in...

Being that there are so many variables in your scenario, you have to look at the end goal. You are going somewhere to ride for a few days. So are you and your bike able to complete your first objective, which is the 940 mile run, without sacrificing yourself and not being able to enjoy the riding time with your buddies? Saddle type, inclement weather, temperature, hydration, physical fitness, ... (the list is long) all play in as variables.