Concours Owners Group (COG) Forum

Concours Discussion (C10 / ZG1000 / 1000GTR) => Tires/Suspension C10 => Topic started by: Marty on June 17, 2013, 07:04:44 pm

Title: No stem locator dot
Post by: Marty on June 17, 2013, 07:04:44 pm
Got a PR3 for the front and when getting ready to mount it I could not find a valve stem location dot anywhere.  There was a very small white barcode on the sealing surface of the tire but it was molded into the tire and not a sticker.  I did put it at the valve stem but I suspect it's simply a barcode and nothing else.  I went ahead and mounted it and put it on jack stands with the axle and then spent the next 15 minutes trying to get the tire to settle in a particular spot and it appears it is perfectly balanced without the need for any weight. Could this be why there wasn't a valve stem locator dot?  The Shinko 777 I put on the rear has a dot but I haven't put it up on the stands to check the balance yet, probably tonight when I get home.

Marty
Title: Re: No stem locator dot
Post by: turbojoe78_MA on June 17, 2013, 07:11:53 pm
I just mounted a PR3 on a 17" rim I'm going to be using soon and I couldn't find a stem mounting dot either.
Title: Re: No stem locator dot
Post by: LakeTrax on June 17, 2013, 09:04:55 pm
Yes, for Michelins you use the bar code as the balance dot.
Not sure where along the way I was told this, but that is what I've always done... Michelins are usually pretty good for balancing with minimal weight needed, and many times you can mount them & not need any weight at all.  :beerchug:
Title: Re: No stem locator dot
Post by: turbojoe78_MA on June 17, 2013, 11:53:22 pm
Yes, for Michelins you use the bar code as the balance dot.
Not sure where along the way I was told this, but that is what I've always done... Michelins are usually pretty good for balancing with minimal weight needed, and many times you can mount them & not need any weight at all.  :beerchug:

I'll remember about the bar code when I mount the rear, when the Mean Streak rim is finished being machined.  Will be using Dyna Beads for balancing.
Title: Re: No stem locator dot
Post by: Marty on June 18, 2013, 08:19:26 pm
As I said earlier, the PR3 needed no weight to balance.  I had to put 1.5oz on the rear 777 to get it balanced which is about half what I had to put on the 890 that was removed. 

Marty
Title: Re: No stem locator dot
Post by: goatmar on June 27, 2013, 11:56:55 pm
Use Durabeads and you won't have to worry about any dots............  they auto balance.  :)  Used them for years and they work great.