Author Topic: No stem locator dot  (Read 873 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Marty

  • Bicycle
  • *
  • Posts: 82
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 8165
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
No stem locator dot
« on: June 17, 2013, 07:04:44 pm »
Got a PR3 for the front and when getting ready to mount it I could not find a valve stem location dot anywhere.  There was a very small white barcode on the sealing surface of the tire but it was molded into the tire and not a sticker.  I did put it at the valve stem but I suspect it's simply a barcode and nothing else.  I went ahead and mounted it and put it on jack stands with the axle and then spent the next 15 minutes trying to get the tire to settle in a particular spot and it appears it is perfectly balanced without the need for any weight. Could this be why there wasn't a valve stem locator dot?  The Shinko 777 I put on the rear has a dot but I haven't put it up on the stands to check the balance yet, probably tonight when I get home.

Marty

Offline turbojoe78_MA

  • Street Cruiser
  • ****
  • Posts: 951
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 8645
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: No stem locator dot
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2013, 07:11:53 pm »
I just mounted a PR3 on a 17" rim I'm going to be using soon and I couldn't find a stem mounting dot either.
1968 Honda 160 Scrambler,  Sold / 1979 Kawasaki SR 650, Traded in for next one,  1978 Kawasaki KZ 1000 Z1R Turbo Sold / 1986 Kawasaki ZX 1000R Ninja Sold / 1999 Kawasaki Concours Sold / 2014 Kawasaki Concours


Offline LakeTrax

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1129
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: Forum
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: No stem locator dot
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2013, 09:04:55 pm »
Yes, for Michelins you use the bar code as the balance dot.
Not sure where along the way I was told this, but that is what I've always done... Michelins are usually pretty good for balancing with minimal weight needed, and many times you can mount them & not need any weight at all.  :beerchug:

Offline turbojoe78_MA

  • Street Cruiser
  • ****
  • Posts: 951
  • AREA: Northeast Area
  • COG#: 8645
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: No stem locator dot
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2013, 11:53:22 pm »
Yes, for Michelins you use the bar code as the balance dot.
Not sure where along the way I was told this, but that is what I've always done... Michelins are usually pretty good for balancing with minimal weight needed, and many times you can mount them & not need any weight at all.  :beerchug:

I'll remember about the bar code when I mount the rear, when the Mean Streak rim is finished being machined.  Will be using Dyna Beads for balancing.
1968 Honda 160 Scrambler,  Sold / 1979 Kawasaki SR 650, Traded in for next one,  1978 Kawasaki KZ 1000 Z1R Turbo Sold / 1986 Kawasaki ZX 1000R Ninja Sold / 1999 Kawasaki Concours Sold / 2014 Kawasaki Concours


Offline Marty

  • Bicycle
  • *
  • Posts: 82
  • AREA: Southeast Area
  • COG#: 8165
  • Membership Level: Forum Subscriber
Re: No stem locator dot
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2013, 08:19:26 pm »
As I said earlier, the PR3 needed no weight to balance.  I had to put 1.5oz on the rear 777 to get it balanced which is about half what I had to put on the 890 that was removed. 

Marty

Offline goatmar

  • Crotch Rocket
  • ****
  • Posts: 1133
  • I do believe, help my unbelief.
  • AREA: North Central Area
  • COG#: 7957
  • Membership Level: Active
Re: No stem locator dot
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2013, 11:56:55 pm »
Use Durabeads and you won't have to worry about any dots............  they auto balance.  :)  Used them for years and they work great.
Dave Muzzey  St. Charles, IL  COG#7957  '01 Connie  100K miles and counting