• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Cornering Fast

IKnowYouRider

Hi All,

Looking for everyones advice on improving speed through turns. I am new to group riding and I am finding myself slower in turns than the group. I have taken advanced MSF courses. I have been street riding for 22 years. I feel super confident at slow speed maneuvering and taking turns at speed limit. But I have a healthy fear going 'too fast' through turns I can't see through. Wanted to hear from this experienced group on their insight on this topic.

Thanks,
Brian

Take a track day event, like a Reg Pridemore's CLASS or Yammie Champions School...your confidence and skills will change exponentially the first day! If that is just not possible, read Keith Codes Twist of the wrist or Nick Ienatch's book...apply the skill training exercises. Remember to look where you want to go, keep eyes up and ahead and through the next corner, look lean and believe you can make it.

I have a healthy fear going 'too fast' through turns I can't see through. Wanted to hear from this experienced group on their insight on this topic.

Thanks,
Brian
Hello Brian - in addition to already mentioned, more hours in the saddle will gain confidence that you’ll be able to handle whatever may be around that corner.