• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Played around with making my own Summer Screen

ZXtasy

I have been finding the stock non vented 2013 screen a bit stifling on hot humid days. Now I have been riding mostly naked bikes for the last 15 years, so I got used to the helmet being the ultimate windshield and I like a little airflow. So bought a used shield for only 20 bucks off a 2008, and it was in really nice shape but I took the jigsaw to it anyway. Then i dug a 2008 Ninja 650 windscreen off a wreck out of my stash and used my new HF heat gun to shape the plastic a bit into more of a double bubble shape.

Found some metallic blue Rustoleum that looked really close, but alas, it would be really closer to the 2017 blue, but 5 bucks was more my taste than the 40 for the ColorRite matching. (I have had good success with their paints in the past.) I test rode it with just the trimmed down stock in all positions at speeds from 40 to 80, then put on the formed bubble and did the same tests. The 2 piece shield at lowest position provided the quietest and most refreshing setting of all.

Hope to have a nice hot tire shredding summer to test this out in. I will next paint the top plastic silver to see how it looks, then if I don't like that will pony up for the CR stuff.

Attachments

• SUMMER SCRN1SMALL.jpg
    SUMMER SCRN1SMALL.jpg
    334.5 KB · Views: 299
  • SUMMER SCRN2SMALL.jpg
    SUMMER SCRN2SMALL.jpg
    327 KB · Views: 289