• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

1999 C10 Project "Bahnie"

jstutz20038113

I've been riding and wrenching for a little over 20 years now. A little after I got my first bike I got a certificate in motorcycle repair mostly to do my own maintenance. I'm finally well established with a job I love, military fuels management, so this summer I was looking for a nice hobby and came up with buying bikes in need of repair, fixing them up, and rehoming them. I find it very cathartic to work on them.

So I've taken on a few projects already with great results. I picked up this Barney bike from a local gentleman who owned her for something like 17 years as the second owner. I know it isn't super original, but I named her Bahnie because she is a Connie, a Barney, people east of me in Boston pronounce Barney as "Bahnie", and I suspect she would be fun to take on the autobahn when running.

She sat for about 5 years. The bad: No battery, bit of rust, faded plastics, torn seat, locked up front calipers, rough looking outer fork seals, and almost certainly gummy carbs and fuel system. The good: No dents, excellent plastic other than fading, no leaks, under 17,000 on the odo.

I do have some other projects going on, but will be working on brakes first so she can move around(I had to pull the calipers off the rotors to get her in the garage), then move on to battery and fuel systems.