• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

How Low Do You Go?...Temps i mean

mnofpeace

Scooter
I am relatively new to this sport-touring thing, and i have only owned my 09 Connie since June.  I was I see all of the posts about seat comfort, wind screen size, farkles up and down, but with the winter months coming, i wanted to know from the group...

How cold do you ride in in this sport-touring game?

I have much of the necessary gear from my sport riding days; silk thermals, winter gloves incl. silk glove liners, helmet specific baclava, heavy cordova coat & overpants with liners, water proof riding boots...and i love how they all work.  I have even been looking through the Tourmast and Airostich catologues contemplating my next purchase.

When my R6 was my street bike, i would take it just about until NOW with my commuting.  I was comfortable riding into the mid 40s in the mornings, and into the 50s and 60s during the afternoons.  some days it was a little uncomfortable, but hey, like all of you, i LOVE riding.

With my new connie, and its adjustable windscreen, more fairing coverage, and nice amounts of heat coming up from the engine, i have had very few mornings (hi 30s) where i was a little uncomforable, but most of the time i am good to and from work.  I put the windscreen all the way up, and only feel a little air at my head.  In the afternoon, with all of that gear on, I put the screen down just to keep from overheating.