• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Looking for some maintenance hints

bartecki

Tricycle
Hi all,
I am closing first season with my 08 here. Generally speaking I am still learning bikes … so please let me use your wisdom. I am thinking about some basic maintenance.
So few questions … is there anything wrong with changing oil before “winter hibernation”? I was thinking to do my oil and air filter now .. so it is ready when I wake up the beast in the spring. Where do you buy your parts? Do you stick with OEM? Would you go for K&N filter? And the big one …what oil should I get?
I will do tires over the winter … I know that this is a separate thread by it salve but … what do you have on your bike?
Any help/comments will be greatly appreciated
Thanks

Are you trying to start trouble?  Don't ever ask what kind of oil!    :))

Actually changing the oil when putting her away for the winter is the way to go. Along with adding fuel stabilizer. And plugging into a battery tender. I personally try to wash and wax (if possible). Plus I try to lube the little things like pivot points and such. I don't think most people use OEM filters constantly. A K&N air filter, or oil filter, like oil and a lot of other things is a matter of preference.