• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

OEM Heated Grip "Upgrade"

mcgyver74

Ok
So I've been working on an idea for a few months now where I want to replace the factory heated grips with a set of Symtec's yet retain the factory heat control.  This way I can be free to use whatever set of grips I like rather then  be stuck with grip puppies or trying to put murhps grips OVER the stockers.  (The stock grips feel just like concrete...Only harder)

So according to the manual, the factory ckt looks like this:

OEM%252520Heat.jpg

So what I am thinking is connecting the Brown (on the right) and black (On the left) wires from the OEM grips to the red (high) wire of the Symtecs, then the Grey wire from the factory (the ground) to the white earthing wire of the Symtecs.

According to Symtec's site, their grip warmers pull a max of 36 Watts (3A) on the high circuit,  However, the problem I am having is that I cannot find out what the spec's on the OEM grip heaters are,  I know the heat system itself is fused at 10A so in theory the OEM controller can handle the symtec, but I'd like to go in and confirm before I splice in.

I'd also like to find a source for the connectors that Kawa uses on the OEM grips that way I don't have to splice into the ckt (keep wiring neat, just plug and crash)

What think YE all :)