• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Valve adjust time this summer

wjinks

Road Bike
I have the workshop manual and a full set of tools. I have lots of experience on engines BUT I have never done one that uses shims. Has any one written up instructions on doing this on a c-14. I know Fred has a maint video. Does this cover the valve job? It must be a job just to get to them to check them. Mine is running sooo good I hate to mess with it.

From what I understand, Fred goes through it pretty good. I watched one or two of Fred's DVD's to check them out. I found him to be very in depth to the point of saying, "come on Fred, pick it up a little!"  :))  I think they would probably work for you, If you want an aid to help you out, if you decide to do it yourself.